The Dress in the Window: A Novel

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Jul 25, 2017 - Fiction - 384 pages

A perfect debut novel is like a perfect dress—it’s a “must have” and when you “try it on” it fits perfectly. In this richly patterned story of sisterhood, ambition, and reinvention Sofia Grant has created a story just right for fans of Vintage and The Dress Shop of Dreams.

World War II has ended and American women are shedding their old clothes for the gorgeous new styles. Voluminous layers of taffeta and tulle, wasp waists, and beautiful color—all so welcome after years of sensible styles and strict rationing.  

Jeanne Brink and her sister Peggy both had to weather every tragedy the war had to offer—Peggy now a widowed mother, Jeanne without the fiancé she’d counted on, both living with Peggy’s mother-in-law in a grim mill town.  But despite their grey pasts they long for a bright future—Jeanne by creating stunning dresses for her clients with the help of her sister Peggy’s brilliant sketches.

Together, they combine forces to create amazing fashions and a more prosperous life than they’d ever dreamed of before the war. But sisterly love can sometimes turn into sibling jealousy. Always playing second fiddle to her sister, Peggy yearns to make her own mark. But as they soon discover, the future is never without its surprises, ones that have the potential to make—or break—their dreams.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - LynnB - LibraryThing

I had trouble with this one. This is a post-war story and shows how female households -- those where the men of the family didn't survive WWII -- struggled to support themselves and each other. Peggy ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - wagner.sarah35 - LibraryThing

I enjoyed this story of two sisters in the post-WWII era. Jeanne and Peggy are each struggling - with poverty, the deaths of the men they loved, and to make a living. Each has a talent: Jeanne can sew ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2017)

Sofia Grant has the heart of a homemaker, the curiosity of a cat, and the keen eye of a scout. She works from an urban aerie in Oakland, California.

Bibliographic information