Page images
PDF
EPUB

the space has been temporarily occupied by the Engineering Bureau of the Department of Street Cleaning, pending the finishing of the tower of the building, now to be placed under contract.

The Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity has made available rooms 2342-2344, which may be used temporarily by the Department of Street Cleaning, and the northerly one-half of a large room, bearing the numbers 2346-2352, which may be used for the temporary period by the Fire Department.

WM. A. PRENDERGAST, Comptroller; FRANK L. DOWLING, President of the Board of Aldermen; MILO R. MALTBIE, Chamberlain; F. J. H. KRACKE, Commissioner of Plant and Structures; Committee on Allotment of Space in the Municipal Building.

After a discussion and consideration of the request of the Committee on the Allotment of Space for instructions as to whether or not the School for Municipai Courses of Instruction should be housed in the Municipal Building, the following resolutions were offered for adoption:

Resolved, That the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund hereby adopted the recommendations of the Committee on Allotment of Space, as to space in the Municipal Building, as follows: —that

(1) The former allotment to the Mayor's Committee on Unemployment of 638 square feet on floor 8 (room 852) be rescinded.

(2) The former allotment to the Examining Board of Plumbers of 783 square feet on floor 8 (rooms 854-856) be rescinded.

(3) The former allotment to the Department of Taxes and Assessments of 640 square feet on floor 9 (room 909) be rescinded.

(4) To the Mayor's Committee on Unemployment the use, jointly with the Mayor's Committee on National Defense, as an office of 1286 square feet on floor 9 (rooms 914-916) be allotted.

(5) To the Examining Board of Plumbers 788 square feet on floor 9 (rooms 909 and 925) be allotted.

(6) To the Board of Aldermen, for use of the Committee on Buildings and to the Board of Standards and Appeals, jointly with the Department of Plant and Structures, 526 square feet on floor 18 (room 1822) be allotted; the joint arrangement to expire on October 1, 1916.

(7) To the Mayor, for use of the Warrant Division of that office, 306 square feet on floor 8 (room 856) be allotted.

(8) To the City Chamberlain_477 square feet on floor 8 (room 854) be allotted.

(9) To the Commission on Pensions 638 square feet on floor 8 (room 852) be allotted, for occupancy until August 15, 1916.

(10) To the Fire Department the temporary joint use, with the Department of Water Supply. Gas and Electricity, of rooms Nos. 2346-2352, containing 3200 square fee!, not subdivided, be allotted.

(11) To the Department of Street Cleaning the temporary use of rooms 23422344, containing 882 square feet, heretofore allotted to the Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity, be allotted.

Whereas, the Director of Municipal Courses, acting for the College of The City of New York, has made an application to the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund for the allotment of space in the Municipal Building, which application was referred to the Committee on the Allotment of Space: and,

Whereas, the said Committee has asked for instructions as to whether or not this activity shall be housed in the Municipal Building.

Resolved, That it is the sense of the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund that the application should be granted and the Committee on Allotment of Space is hereby authorized to recommend suich allotment of space in the building as may be found available for the purposes.

The report was accepted and the resolutions severally unanimously adopted.

Board of Education-Assignment to, of Premises No. 180 Wooster Street,

Borough of Manhattan. The Deputy and Acting Comptroller presented the following report and offered the following resolution:

July 1916. To the Honorable the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund:

Gentlemen—The Secretary of the Board of Education in a communicatinn to your Board under date of June 30, 1916, states that they have received an offer to

(10) To the Fire Department, the temporary joint use with the Departnert Water Supply, Gas and Electricity, of rooms Xos. 2346-2352, containing 3,2015 feet, not subdivided, be allotted.

(11) To the Department of Street Cleaning, the temporary use of rooms 242344, containing 882 square feet, heretofore allotted to the Department oi Wate Supply, Gas and Electricity, be allotted.

Jlayor's Committee on Municipal Courses. (a) The Director of Municipal Courses, acting for the College of the City : New York, requests the permanent assignment of space in the Municipal Buildirg. 25 follows:

(1) As an administrative office, one room, area about 190 square feet, for elclusive use.

(2a) As stenotype room, one room, area about 280 square feet.
(21)) As typewriter room, one room, area about 400 square feet.

The rooms (2a) and (2b) above to be assigned for exclusive use by the College from September 15, 1916, to June 15, 1917.

(b) Request is further made for the privilege of holding lectures in other Tuurafter business hours of the departments to which the rooms are assigned, suct use = no wise to interfere with the business regularly conducted in them. The lectures comme planned to be given beginning about September 15, 1916, and ending about June :3 1917.

The courses of instruction are open only to employees of The City of New Yx. Fees are charged by the College and paid by the students in these courses. The ic. are estimated to be sufficient only to meet the bare cost of giving the courses.

The College of the City of New York is a department of the City. The CouTof instruction to be given in the Municipal Building are in all respects under the control of a committee appointed by the Mayor.

In view of the report by the Director of the Courses (Calendar No. 12), Committee requests instructions as to whether this activity shall be housed in Municipal Building.

Memorandum. The joint occupancy by the Committee on Unemployment and the Committer :National Defense of the same group of rooms having been found practicable, tin room No. 852, formerly allotted to the Committee on L'nemployment, may be made available for other assignment. Temporarily this room will be occupied by a part o the force of the Commission on Pensions. Upon completion of the certain removal partitions in rooms 840-844, heretofore allotted to the Commission on Pensions, the whole force of that Commission will be quartered in the latter rooms.

The Warrant Division of the Mayor's Office should be permanently locatch is the building. It was placed temporarily in room 1220, between the offices of the Commissioner of Accounts and those of the Central Purchasing Committee. ! desirable location adjoining the offices of the Department of Finance (Stock and Bond Division), and the City Chamberlain, may be made available by relocating the Examining Board of Plumbers in the building. The latter may be satisfactory quartered on floor 9, in room 909, heretofore assigned to the Department of Taxes and Assessments, but not now needed by that Department, and in room 925, an assigned interior filing room. Of the offices vacated by the Examining Board of Plumbers, room 856 will be sufficient for the Warrant Division, and room 854 desired by the City Chamberlain to quarter a force to be employed on new work which has been assigned to that office. Room 1220 will be available for future assigtment.

Pending the operation of the law under which the Board of Standards and Appeals will be organized, as well as that under which the Department of Plant and Structures is being reorganized out of the former Department of Bridges, temporary accommodations may be provided in the offices assigned to the Commissioner of Plant and Structures on floor 18 for the Committee on Buildings of the Board of Aldermen, and for the Board of Standards and Appeals. These latter may he quartered in a single room until October 1, 1916, when the Board of Examiners will expire Suitable space for the performance of the duties which will then devolve upon the new board will in future be recommended for allotment to it and provision will be made for the Committee on Buildings as mav be required.

In connection with the preparation of plans for the new fire alarm telegranh system, a large force of Draftsmen is provided for, to he emploved in the Fire De partment, which force should be quartered in the Municipal Building.

The Board of Parole, recently organized according to law, has been assigned to certain space on floor 25 and now desires to take possession of a part of that space : the space has been temporarily occupied by the Engineering Bureau of the Department of Street Cleaning, pending the finishing of the tower of the building, now to be placed under contract.

The Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity has made available rooms 2342-2344, which may be used temporarily by the Department of Street Cleaning, and the northerly one-half of a large room, bearing the numbers 2346-2352, which may be used for the temporary period by the Fire Department.

WM. A. PRENDERGAST, Comptroller; FRANK L. DOWLING, President of the Board of Aldermen; MILO R. MALTBIE, Chamberlain; F. J. H. KRACKE, Commissioner of Plant and Structures; Committee on Allotment of Space in the Municipal Building.

After a discussion and consideration of the request of the Committee on the Allotment of Space for instructions as to whether or not the School for Municipal Courses of Instruction should be housed in the Municipal Building, the following resolutions were offered for adoption:

Resolved, That the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund hereby adopted the recommendations of the Committee on Allotment of Space, as to space in the Muni. cipal Building, as follows: --that

(1) The former allotment to the Mayor's Committee on Unemployment of 638 square feet on floor 8 (room 852) be rescinded.

(2) The former allotment to the Examining Board of Plumbers of 783 square feet on floor 8 (rooms 854-856) be rescinded.

(3) The former allotment to the Department of Taxes and Assessments of 640 square feet on floor 9 (room 909) be rescinded.

(4) To the Mayor's Committee on Unemployment the use, jointly with the Mayor's Committee on National Defense, as an office of 1286 square feet on floor 9 (rooms 914-916) be allotted.

(5) To the Examining Board of Plumbers 788 square feet on floor 9 (rooms 909 and 925) be allotted.

(6) To the Board of Aldermen, for use of the Committee on Buildings and to the Board of Standards and Appeals, jointly with the Department of Plant and Structures, 526 square feet on floor 18 (room 1822) be allotted; the joint arrangement to expire on October 1, 1916.

(7) To the Mayor, for use of the Warrant Division of that office, 306 square feet on floor 8 (room 856) be allotted.

(8) To the City Chamberlain 477 square feet on floor 8 (room 854) be allotted.

(9) To the Commission on Pensions 638 square feet on floor 8 (room 852) be allotted, for occupancy until August 15, 1916.

(10) To the Fire Department the temporary joint use, with the Department of Water Supply. Gas and Electricity, of rooms Nos. 2346-2352, containing 3200 square feet, not subdivided, be allotted.

(11) To the Department of Street Cleaning the temporary use of rooms 23422344, containing 882 square feet, heretofore allotted to the Department of Water Supply, Gas and Electricity, be allotted.

Whereas, the Director of Municipal Courses, acting for the College of The City of New York, has made an application to the Commissicners of the Sinking Fund for the allotment of space in the Municipal Building, which application was referred to the Committee on the Allotment of Space: and,

Whereas, the said Committee has asked for instructions as to whether or not this activity shall be housed in the Municipal Building.

Resolved, That it is the sense of the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund that the application should be granted and the Committee on Allotment of Space is hereby authorized to recommend such allotment of space in the building as may be found available for the purposes.

The report was accepted and the resolutions severally unanimously adopted.

Board of Education Assignment to, of Premises No. 180 Wooster Street,

Borough of Manhattan. The Deputy and Acting Comptroller presented the following report and offered the following resolution:

July , 1916. To the Honorable the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund:

Gentlemen-The Secretary of the Board of Education in a communication to your Board under date of June 30, 1916, states that they have received an offer to

lease Public School No. 144, at Allen and Hester streets, Manhattan, now used for storage purposes, and requests the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund to reassiga to the Board of Education for storage purposes the building heretofore known 23 Public School 125, at 180 Wooster Street, Manhattan (which was surrendered to the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund on October 9, 1912) in order that the Board Education may surrender Public School 144, that the City may derive revenue theretrộm,

I therefore respectfully recommend that the Commissioners of the Sinking Fun adopt a resolution assigning to the Board of Education the premises in the Borocg. of Manhattan formerly known as Public School 125, being a plot 75 by 100 fee. with buildings, on the easterly side of Wooster Street distant 150 feet westerly from the corner formed by the intersection of the easterly side of Wooster Street with the southerly side of Bleecker Street, it being understood that the Board of Educa. tion will turn over to the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund the premises kur as Public School 144, on Allen and Hester streets, Manhattan. Respectfully,

ALBERT E. HADLOCK, Deputy and Acting Comptroller. Resolved. That pursuant to the provisions of Section 205 of the Greater Neu York Charter, as amended, the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund hereby assign the Board of Education, the premises in the Borough of Manhattan formerly know as Public School 125, being a plot 75 x 100 feet, with buildings, on the easterly side of Wooster Street, distant 150 feet westerly from the corner formed by the intersection of the easterly side of Wooster Street with the southerly side of Bleecker Street, it being understood that the Board of Education will turn over to the Coatmissioners of the Sinking Fund the premises known as Public School 144 on Alder: and Hester Streets, Manhattan.

The report was accepted and the resolution unanimously adopted.

General Industrial Education Survey Committee-Assignment to, of Premises

at No. 49 Lafayette Street, Borough of Manhattan. The Deputy and Acting Comptroller presented the following report and offered the following resolution :

July 12, 1916 To the Honorable the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund:

Gentlemen-On November 18, 1915, the Commissioners of the Sinking For? assigned the south part of the seventh floor of the building at 49 Lafayette Street Manhattan, to the Board of Education for use of the Committee on Vocationa? Schools and Industrial Training during the pleasure of the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund. This part of the seventh floor is now vacant.

The Chairman of the General Industrial Education Survey Committee in a lot niunication to your Board under date of June 29, 1916, requests the assignment | his committee of the above premises. I therefore respectfully recommend that the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund adopt a resolution terminating the above assignment to the Board of Education of the south part of the seventh floor of the premises owned by the City at 49 Lafayette Street Borough of Manhattan, and assigning the same to the General Industrial Education Survey Committee during the pleasent of the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund. Respectfully,

ALBERT E. HADLOCK Deputy and Acting Comptroller. Resolved. That the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund hereby terininate tre assignment made to the Board of Education, for use of the Committee on locations. Schools and Industrial Training, made on November 18 1915. of the south part ** the 7th floor of the building at No. 49 Lafayette Street, Borough of Manhattan; 2 be it further

Resolved. That the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund hereby assign the art mentioned premises to the General Industrial Education Survey Committee, srch 2 signment to continue during the pleasure of the Commissioners of the Sinking Furd.

The report was accepted and the resolution unanimously adopted.

Exchange of Property Owned by the City at the Southwest Corner of Fifth

Street and First Avenue, Manhattan, for Parcel of Land on Inwood Hill Worth of Dyckman Street, Borough of Manhattan.

The Deputy and Acting Comptroller presented the following report and offered or following resolution :

July 12. 1916. To the Honorable the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund:

Gentlemen-On June 1. 1916, the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund appoimet Joseph P. Day, Henry Brady and W. H. Archibald appraisers, to appraise two parces

of land owned by the City, one located at the southwest corner of 5th Street and ist Avenue, Manhattan, and the other at the northwest corner of Essex Market Place and Essex Street, Manhattan, and also a parcel of land located about 2,000 feet north of Dyckman Street, Manhattan, owned by private owners, which was laid out as a public park on January 7, 1916, by the Board of Estimate and Apportionment. It was proposed to exchange the two parcels above mentioned owned by the City for the property in private ownership.

Subsequent to the adoption of the above resolution the owners withdrew their offer to accept from the City the parcel at Essex Market Place and Essex Street, and will only take in exchange for the property owned by them the parcel on the southwest corner of 5th Street and 1st Avenue.

The report of the appraisers appointed shows the value of the different parcels as follows:

By Joseph P. Day: Property owned by the City (5th Street and Ist Avenue), $50,000. Property to be conveyed to the City, $160,000.

By Henry Brady: Property owned by the City (5th Street and 1st Avenue), $48,000. Property to be conveyed to the City, $155,000.

By W. H. Archibald: Property owned by the City (5th Street and 1st Avenue), $46,500. Property to be conveyed to the City, $157,000.

The parcel of land to be conveyed to the City will be subject to mortgages aggregating $107,000.

The Corporation Counsel in a communication under date of June 19, 1916, states that he can see no legal objection to the proposed exchange.

I therefore respectfully recommend that the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund adopt the attached resolution. Respectfully,

ALBERT E. HADLOCK, Deputy and Acting Comptroller. Whereas, at a meeting held June 1, 1916, the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund adopted the following:

"Whereas, The Commissioners of the Sinking Fund deem it for the interest of the City to authorize an exchange of the following property owned by the City of New York for the land owned by private owners; therefore, be it

"Resolved, That, in accordance with the provisions of section 205A of the Greater New York Charter, as amended, the Commissioners of the Sinking Fund hereby determine that the land owned by the City of New York, described as follows, is not required for departmental or public purposes :

"Parcel 1. "All that certain piece or parcel of land, situate, lying and being in the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York, described as follows:

"Beginning at the point formed by the intersection of the southerly line of East 5th Street and the westerly line of First Avenue, and running thence southerly along the westerly line of First Avenue 48 feet; running thence westerly parallel with East Fifth Street sixty (60) feet; running thence northerly and parallel with First Avenue forty-eight (48) feet to the southerly line of East Fifth Street; running thence easterly along the southerly line of East Fifth Street sixty (60) feet to the point or place of beginning; also

Parcel 2. "All that certain piece or parcel of land, situate, lying and being in the Borough of Manhattan, City of New York, described as follows:

"Beginning at a point on the westerly line of Essex Street, distant 88 feet 3 inches southerly from the corner formed by the intersection of the southerly line of Broome Street and the westerly line of Essex Street; running thence westerly parallel with Broome Street 87 feet 6 inches; thence southerly parallel with Essex Street to the northerly line of Essex Market Place; running thence easterly along the northerly line of Essex Market Place 87 feet 6 inches to the westerly line of Essex Street, running thence northerly along the westerly line

of Essex Street to the point or place of beginning; "—and they further determine that the lands of the private owners hereinafter described are needed for public purposes :

"Parcel 3. "All that certain tract, plot or parcel of land with the buildings thereon. situate, lying and being in the Twelfth Ward of the City of New York, part of the farm late of Samuel Thomson, known as Mount Washington, as shown and laid out into intersecting streets and avenue, on a map entitled 'Map of Property belonging to Samuel Thomson, Esq., in the Twelfth Ward of the City of New York,' surveved by Edwin Smith and Woolsey R. Hopkins, City Survevors, New York. December 31, 1849. and filed in the office of the Register of the City and County of New York by the number 22, and containing three (3)

« PreviousContinue »