Page images


7. Copies of the 106 reports presented at the Lisbon Congress (published in 12 volumes), two semiannual bulletins, and a revised edition of PIANC regulations, were distributed to all American members.

8. A meeting of the Commission was held in Brussels, Belgium, on June 6, 1950, when the United States was represented by Maj. Gen. Philip B. Fleming, U. S. Army, Retired, chairman of the American section; Mr. J. Spencer Smith, and Col. Claude H. Chorpening, Corps of Engineers, U. S. Army.

9. The membership of the American section has increased from 251 on March 31, 1947, to 409 on December 31, 1949, and to 667 on June 30, 1950.

10. The expenditures during the year from the appropriation referred to in paragraph 1 above amounted to $12,410.21, of which $9,500 was paid to the headquarters office at Brussels for the support and maintenance of the association, being the regular annual contribution for the years 1940 to 1950, inclusive, excluding 1945 and 1946, for which no appropriations were authorized. These funds were held in this country at the request of the Brussels office until needed for the expenses of the Lisbon Congress. The balance of $2,910.21 was for the payment of traveling expenses of the delegates from the United States.


The proposed canal route across Nicaragua extends from Brito on the Pacific via the Rio Grande Lake Nicaragua, the Rio San Juan, and the Rio Deseado to Greytown on the Atlantic, and is 173 miles long.

A survey of the Nicaragua route was made in 1901, and Public Resolution 99, Seventieth Congress, approved March 2, 1929, authorized a further survey to bring the data up to date, as well as an investigation of additional facilities needed at the Panama Canal, to be made under the direction of the Secretary of War and supervision of the Chief of Engineers, with the aid of such civilian engineers as the President deemed advisable. The President appointed the Interoceanic Canal Board to assist the Chief of Engineers. The Governor of the Panama Canal made the investigation at Panama, and a provisional battalion of United States engineer troops made the survey in Nicaragua.

The report of the Chief of Engineers, together with the reports of the Interoceanic Canal Board, of the Governor of the Panama Canal, and of the officer in charge of the survey, was submitted on December 5, 1931, and published in House Document No. 139, Seventy-second Congress, first session.

An officer and one non-commissioned officer are stationed in Nicaragua to continue the collection and compilation of hydrological and meteorological data pertaining to the proposed canal.

During the past fiscal year the collection of these data has in volved the operation within the watershed of Lake Nicaragua of a number of rainfall stations, also stations for making fog observations, collection of evaporation data, recording lake levels and river stages, recording barometric pressure and humidity, and for gaging wind velocity and temperature.

The appropriation for the investigation and survey was $150,000, all of which had been expended by the end of the fiscal year 1943. The River and Harbor Act, approved June 30, 1938, authorized the Secretary of War to continue the gathering of hydrological data in Nicaragua under the supervision of the Chief of Engineers as recommended in House Document No. 139, Seventysecond Congress, first session, and such incidental expenses as may be necessary in connection therewith are to be paid from appropriations hereafter made for examinations, surveys, and contingencies of rivers and harbors.

The expenditures for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1950, were $9,192.00, from appropriations made for examinations, surveys, and contingencies of rivers and harbors.

It is estimated that $8,750.00 will be expended in continuing the operations during the fiscal year ending June 30, 1951.



The Federal Water Power Act of June 10, 1920, created the Federal Power Commission, composed of the Secretary of War, Secretary of the Interior, and Secretary of Agriculture, with authority to grant permits and licenses for hydroelectric developments in all waters over which Congress has jurisdiction. The act further required that the work of the Commission be performed by and through the Departments of War, Interior, and Agriculture, and their engineering, technical, and other personnel, except as may be otherwise provided by law.

By the act of June 23, 1930, entitled "An act to reorganize the Federal Power Commission," sections 1 and 2 of the Federal Water Power Act of June 10, 1920, were amended. A commission was provided for to be composed of five commissioners to be appointed by the President, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate. The necessity of performing the work through the Departments of War, Interior, and Agriculture was also removed and the Commission authorized to appoint such officers and employees as are necessary in the execution of its functions.

By title II of the Public Utility Act of 1935, approved August 26, 1935, the original Federal Water Power Act was made part I of the Federal Power Act, and parts II and III added to that act.

The law also provides that no water-power license affecting the navigable capacity of any navigable waters of the United States shall be issued until the plans of the dam or other structures affecting navigation have been approved by the Chief of Engineers and the Secretary of Army. There is further provision whereby any person or corporation intending to construct project works in any stream over which Congress has jurisdiction, other than navigable waters, shall file a declaration of intention for the purpose of ascertaining whether or not the jurisdiction of the Federal Power Commission will attach

To July 1, 1941, the following work of an engineering nature had been referred to the Department of the Army by the Commission:

Engineering reports submitted
Reports submitted on declaration of intention
Public hearing held ....
Licenses and permits referred for field supervision
Licenses and permits referred for supervision of stream gaging

314 121

74 144


In addition to the above, certain work pertaining to accounting and related matters was assigned to the Department of the Army between July 1, 1929, and July 1, 1941, as indicated in the following table:

« PreviousContinue »