Stalking the Wild Asparagus

Front Cover
A.C. Hood, 1962 - Cooking - 303 pages
3 Reviews
Euell Gibbons is one of the few people in this country to have devoted a considerable part of his life to the adventure of "living off the land". The wild foods he recommends in this book are widely available everywhere. There are recipes for delicious vegetable and casserole dishes, breads, cakes, muffins and twenty different pies. He shows how to make numerous jellies, jams, teas and wines, and tells how to sweeten them with wild honey or homemade maple syrup. Gibbons reveals his actual methods of hunting, fishing, recognizing, gathering and using the cornucopia of foods abounding in the wild.

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Stalking the Wild Asparagus

User Review  - Nicole - Goodreads

LOVE this book, it was my bible in high school. Every walk through the woods was transformed from "oh that is pretty" to "oh how can I use that plant!" Read full review

Review: Stalking the Wild Asparagus

User Review  - Candice - Goodreads

You know, Euell Gibbons was a very interesting guy, which surprised me. The recipes make me wonder why anyone would even try to cook some of this stuff. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1962)

McPhee was born in Princeton, New Jersey, and educated at Princeton University and Cambridge University. His writing career began at Time magazine and led to his long association with the New Yorker, where he has been a staff writer since 1965. That same year he published his first book, A Sense of Where You Are, with FSG, and soon followed with The Headmaster (1966), Oranges (1967), The Pine Barrens (1968), A Roomful of Hovings and Other Profiles (collection, 1969), The Crofter and the Laird (1969), Levels of the Game (1970), Encounters with the Archdruid (1972), The Deltoid Pumpkin Seed (1973), The Curve of Binding Energy (1974), Pieces of the Frame (collection, 1975), and The Survival of the Bark Canoe (1975). Both Encounters with the Archdruid and The Curve of Binding Energy were nominated for National Book Awards in the category of science Since 1977, the year in which McPhee received the Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and The John McPhee Reader and the bestselling Coming into the Country appeared in print, Farrar, Straus and Giroux has published Giving Good Weight (collection, 1979), Basin and Range (1981), In Suspect Terrain (1983), La Place de la Concorde Suisse (1984), Table of Contents (collection, 1985), Rising from the Plains (1986), Heirs of General Practice (in a paperback edition, 1986), The Control of Nature (1989), Looking for a Ship (1990), Assembling California (1993), The Ransom of Russian Art (1994), The Second John McPhee Reader (1996), and Irons in the Fire (1997). Annals of the Former World was published in 1998 and was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1999. McPhee has taught at Princeton as Ferris Professor since 1975.

Bibliographic information