Hugh Primas and the Archpoet

Front Cover
Renowned poet Fleur Adcock here provides modern verse translations of the complete work of two of the most exciting poets of the twelfth century, Hugh Primas of Orleans and the so-called Archpoet, beside their Latin originals. Included are witty epigrams, treatments of classical themes, poems on religious and ecclesiastical topics, depictions of low life, begging-poems, and the Archpoet's famous Confession. The work is characterised by its liveliness and its touches of satire and coarse realism, features which Fleur Adcock captures superbly in her modern renderings. There are textual notes, explanatory notes, a historical note, and an introduction. This unique resource will appeal not only to medievalists but to all lovers of poetry.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Considered among the major poets of the English language, Fleur Adcock was born in Papakura, New Zealand in 1934 and educated at Victoria University. She worked as a librarian before turning to writing full time in the 1970s. Adcock has written eight volumes of poetry including Selected Poems (1983), The Incident Book (1986), and Time Zones (1991). She has edited several anthologies. Adcock was made a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 1984, the year in which she received the New Zealand Book Award for Selected Poems. She was the recipient of the 1997 T.S. Eliot Prize and the winner of the Whitbread book of the Year 1997. Adcock lives in London.

Bibliographic information