Page images


Increasing the capacity of the State Prison at Folsom.
Restricting the use of the strait-jacket as a means of punishment.
Amending the law providing for the sale of grain bags.

Providing for the construction of the hospital for criminal insane by convict labor.

Providing for the classification of pupils in the Reform Schools.

Directing that all commitments to the Reform Schools shall be for the period of minority.

Permitting the commitment of girls to Whittier State School until they reach the age of twenty-one years.

Providing for the deportation of non-resident and alien insane.

Directing that insane patients be taken to the State Hospitals by hospital attendants.




The statute creating this Board provides that “three months prior to each regular session of the Legislature the Board shall make a full and complete report to the Governor of all its transactions during the preceding two years, showing fully and in detail all expenses incurred and moneys paid out by it, giving a list of all officers and agents employed, and the actual condition of all institutions under its supervision, with such suggestions as it may deem necessary and pertinent and with recommendations for legislative and executive action.”

The members constituting this Board were appointed June 30, 1903. After letters of acceptance had been filed, the Board was called together by your Honor and its members made acquainted with each other. Some time was spent in becoming familiar with the scope of our duties and the selection of a Secretary. The Board selected as its Secretary, Mr. W. Almont Gates, formerly Secretary of the State Board of Corrections and Charities of Minnesota. Miss Gertrude V. Tucker of San José was selected as clerk in the offices of the Board. It was not until November 1st that the Board was able to open its offices in the Parrott Building in San Francisco.

At its first meeting the members proceeded to classify themselves as required by statute, with the following result: To go out of office at the end of four years, Andrew M. Davis and W. C. Patterson; to go out of office at the end of eight years, E. C. Moore and 0. K. Cushing; to go out of office at the end of twelve years, J. K. McLean and Charles A. Ramm.

By-laws for the government of the Board and its officers were adopted, as follows:



The Board shall elect a President, whose duty it shall be to preside at all meetings and perform such other duties as usually pertain to the office of President, and who shall hold office for one year from and after the second Tuesday in August of each year.

The Board shall elect a Vice-President, who shall hold office for the same time, and who shall perform the duties of the President in case of the absence of the latter or his inability to act.

The Board shall elect a Secretary, who shall hold office during the pleasure of the Board and who shall receive such salary as the Board may determine, and whose duty it shall be to keep a record of the proceedings of the Board, to have charge of its offices as executive officer, and to perform such other duties as are contemplated by the law creating the Board and as the Board may from time to time direct.


The Board shall hold regular quarterly meetings on the second Tuesday of February, May, August, and November of each year, at seven o'clock P. M., at its offices in San Francisco.

Special meetings may be held at the call of the President or of three members, at such times and places as may be fixed. Notices of special meetings shall be mailed to the address of each member at least five days before the date of meeting.

The Board may meet at any time and place without notice, if six of the members are present or give their written consent thereto.

The nature of the business to be transacted shall be stated in the notice of special meetings, and no other business shall be transacted at such meeting without the consent of five members of the Board.

The President, Vice-President, and Secretary shall be elected or appointed only at a regular meeting or an adjourned regular meeting.


[ocr errors]

The Secretary shall keep an itemized account of the expenditures of the Board and of each member or officer thereof.

An Auditing Committee of two shall be appointed, whose duty it shall be to audit all expenditures of the Board or any of its members or officers.

QUORUM. · Four members shall constitute a quorum, and a less number can not transact any business except to adjourn from day to day.


These By-Laws may be amended by the vote of four members at any regular meeting without notice; or at a special meeting, provided notice in writing of the proposed amendment is mailed to each member five days before the date of meeting. The By-Laws may be amended or suspended at any time by the unanimous vote of six members.

The Board then elected E. C. Moore President for the ensuing year, and J. K. McLean Vice-President.

The Board completed its organization by appointing the following standing committees :

« PreviousContinue »