« PreviousContinue »
Giles-quay, which would shelter vessels waiting shipwreck, by which he had nearly perished for tide to cross the bar, and enable the inhabi- when in sight of this town. At the saine time he tants to procura fuel at a cheap rate, while at changed its name from Alectum 10 Dei Donum, present the only supply is turf from a bog ten whence its present name is thought by many miles distant. Here are a charter-school of to be derived; while others maintain that its eighty-six girls; a school of 264 children on name was Duntay, or the Hill of Tay. A hill Erasmus Smith's foundation, and an endowed rises on the north of the town to a great height, classical school of high character; a Protestant and is called The Law of Dundee. On its top, church; two Roman Catholic chapels, and two there are evidently the remains of a camp, meeting-houses, one for Presbyterians, the other said to have been first erected by Edward for Methodists. Exports, corn, live cattle, heef, I. of England, and last repaired by general and butter. Imports, coal and flax-seed. Ma- Monk. Dundee had an old castle which was nufactures are, salt, soap, and leather ; bere is demolished by the celebrated Scotch governor Sir an extensive barrack.
William Wallace, who was educated in this DUNDEE, a royal borough of Scotland, in town, which so exasperated Edward I. that, Angus-shire, seated on the north-side of the taking the town by storm, he set fire to the Tay, about twelve miles from its mouth, forty churches ; and a number of the inhabitants, havnorth of Edinburgh, and twenty-three east of Perth. ing taken sanctuary there, with their most valuable Its situation for commerce is very advantageous. effects, were all burnt along with them. The Trading vessels of the largest burden can get into desolation he brought on the church continued the harbour; and on the quay there are very con- till the year 1787, when a noble edifice began to venient and handsome warehouses, as well as good be built on the site of the one that was burnt room for ship-building, which is carried on to down, in which the ancient Gothic of the outside a large extent. The houses are built of stone, is excellently united with internal modern archigenerally three or four stories high. The market- tecture, making one of the largest and neatest place or high street in the middle of the town is churches in the kingdom, and again completing a spacious oblong square, from whence branch the superb superstructure, as erected at the first out the four principal streets, which, with a num- by the earl of Huntingdon. Besides the public ber of lesser ones, are well paved. On the south grammar-school, and the English schools, there side of the market-place stands the town house; is an academy, or rather college, for mathemaan elegant structure, with a very handsome tics, the French and Italian languages, and the front, piazzas below, and a neat spire over it 140 polite arts, with proper professors in the different
This building was finished in 1734, branches, and a large apparatus for natural and and contains the guild-hall, the court-room, the experimental philosophy. This town suffered bank, vaulted repositories for the 'records, and greatly last century during the civil war, being the common prison, which is in the upper story, sometimes under the command of one party, and does honor to the taste and humanity of the and at others of another. In 1645 the marquis magistrates, ander whose auspices it was con- of Montrose took it by storm; and in 1651, unstructed, being well aired commodious rooms, at der the command of its provost major-general the same time very strong and secure. The Lumsden, it vigorously opposed general Monk, meal-market and shambles, which were formerly who carried it by storm, September 1st, and put a nuisance on the High street, were removed, and all in arms to the sword. And so great were the in their place was erected by the nine incorpo- riches of Dundee, all the neighbouring gentlerated trades, on the east end of the above large men having retired to it with their best effects, square, a grand building, with a large and elegant as a place of safety, that every private soldier in cupola: in the ground floor of which is a very Monk's army had nearly £60 sterling to his share neat coffee-room, and several merchants' shops ; of the plunder, there being above sixty merand in the upper stories public rooms for each chant vessels in the harbour at that time; and the trade, and a common hall fifty feet long, like number of vessels sailed for England loaded thirty feet broad, and twenty-five feet high; with the spoils of the unfortunate inhabitants having its front to the square decorated with The magistrates have been at great expense in Ionic columns. St. Andrew's Church, also built enlarging and fitting up the harbour, so as to by the incorporations, stands on a rising ground render it of easy access, safe and commodious; a little north from the Cowgate-street; and has and have made the passage over the Tay, where an elegant spire 130 feet high, with a peal of there is a great resort, so convenient, that travelbells much admired. Dundee has also four other lers with their horses can get over it at any time churches, and five ministers on the establishment. of tide; a sufficient number of boats properly The old church, in which were originally four manned being always ready. The river Tay places of worship, had been a very magnificent before Dundee is about three miles broad ; and, building, with a large square Gothic tower or being sheltered by high lands on both sides, is steeple, 186 feet high, on the west end of the a safe road for ships of the greatest burden. church. It was in the form of a cross, erected The piers are extensive, broad, and well adapted by David earl of Huntingdon, brother to William for the purposes of loading and discharging vesI. of Scotland, and was dedicated to the Virgin sels; and the harbour is equal to any in ScotMary. This he did on his return from the land. There are upwards of 160 ships of difthird crusade (in which, with 500 of his country- ferent denominations belonging to the port, which men, he had accompanied Richard I. of England), employ upwards of 1300 seamen in the GreenA.D. 1189, in gratitude for his deliverance from and fishery, and the Baltic and the London several imminent dangers, and particularly from trades. A wet-dock has been constructed on a
very extensive scale, and on the quay are several wearing is preserved in the chest of the incorponew ranges of warehouses.
The principal ma
ration. It is a man's shirt wrought in the loom, nufacture here is of linen, particularly osna about 100 years ago, by a weaver of the name burghs, canvas, bagging, &c., for exportation, of Ingles. The shirt is without seam, and was and the Dundee colored thread has long been in finished by the ingenious artisan, without the high repute. Two sugar-houses are also esta- least assistance from the needle. Dunfermline blished here. Till 1745 the town had only draw. has eight annual fairs and a market on Friday. wells;
but since that period, it is most amply DUNG, n. s. & v.a. Sax. dung; Goth. s'pplied from a large fountain of excellent wa DUNG-FORK, n. s. dung ; _Swed. dynger, ter, conveyed into the town in leaden pipes, and DUNG-IIILL,
from Teut. tingen, to discharged by good wells at proper distances. DUNG-YARD,
till land. Excrement The salmon fishing in the Tay is of much im Dung'y, adj. or other matter used to portance; and the town is well supplied with fatten land. To manure with dung. Dungy is fish of various kinds, though much raised in base, mean, vile. price of late years, on account of the quantities He raiseth the poor out of the dust, and lifteth up sent to London. Dundee was the birth-place of the beggar from the dung-hill, to set them among the celebrated Hector Boethius. It joins with princes.
Bible. 2 Sam. ü. 8. Perth, Forfar, St. Andrew's, and Cupar, in send The poor he raiseth from the dust, ing a representative to the British parliament. Even from the dunghil lifts the just. Sandys.
DUNDONALD Castle, an ancient royal His dunghil thoughts, which do themselves eaure castle, seated on an eminence near a village of To dirty dross, no higher dare aspire. the same name, where Robert II. the first mo
Spenser on Lore. narch of the house of Stuart, resided much and
Out, dunghil! dar’st thou brave a nobleman ? at last died in 1390.
Shakspeare. DUNFERMLINE, a royal borough of Fife for the which his animals on his dunghils are as
I, his brother, gain nothing under him but growth; shire, Scotland, fourteen miles west of Kirkaldy, much bound to him as I. Id. As You Like I. and fifteen north-west of Edinburgh. The
We need no grave to bury honesty; greatest part of the town is situate on a hill
There's not a grain of it, the face to sweeten which commands a view of the surrounding Of the whole dungy earth. Id. Winter's Tale. country. Here are the remains of a magnificent For dung, all excrements are the refuse and patreabbey and palace of the kings of Scotland, in factions of nourishment. Bacon's Natural History. which the princess Elizabeth, daughter of king It was received of old, that dunging of grounds James I. was born. In the inn of this town when the west wind bloweth, and in the decrease of was the marriage bed of James VI. and his the moon, doth greatly help. queen; it is still entire, and is now in the pos
Bacon's Natural History. session of the earl of Elgin. This place is noted
For when from herbs the pure part must be won, for a manufactory of figured diapers. It is go- From gross by ’stilling, this is better done
Donne. verned by a provost, two bailies, dean of guild, By despised dung than by the fire or sun. and eighteen counsellors, among whom are the
There cannot be a more evident, palpable, gross eight deacons of incorporations. The houses of manifestation, of poor, degenerate, dunghilly blood and Dunfermline are well 'built, and the size of the breeding, than a rude, unpolished, disordered, and
Massinger. town is rapidly increasing. A large suburb,
There as his dream foretold, a cart he found, connected by the bridge, and road over the glen on the west, opposite to the principal street, add That carried compost forth to dung the ground.
Dryden. much to the elegant appearance of the town. This
Perhaps a thousand other worlds, that lie bridge is of a peculiar structure. An arch 297
Remote from us, and latent in the sky, feet long, twelve broad, and fifteen feet five inches
Are lightened by his beams, and kindly nurst, high, was thrown over the burn in the bottom of the
Of which our earthly dunghil is the worst. glen; and the remaining hollow filled up by a Two cocks fought a duel for the mastery of a dungmound of earth, sixty-eight feet six inches thick hil.
L'Estrange at the centre, having a gradual slope on both Never enter into a league of friendship with an sides to the extremity of the stone arch below. ingrateful person ; that is, plant not thy friendship On the top is the road, enclosed on both sides by upon a dunghil : it is too noble a plant for so base a
South. houses forming a very neat street. On the slopes soil.
He soon would learn to think like me, of the mound, and at the back of the houses, are
And bless his ravished eyes to see very convenient hanging gardens. The church
Such order from confusion sprung, of Dunfermline was the burial place of several
Such gaudy tulips raised from dung. Stoift. of our Scottish monarchs; particularly of Mal
Dungforks and paddles are common every wbere. colm III. with his queen St. Margaret ; Edgar;
Mortimer. Alexander I. with his queen Sibilla ; David I.
Any manner of vegetables cast into the dungeord. and his two queens; Malcolm IV.; Alexander III. with his queen Margaret; and Robert I. They are not hawks or kites; they are only miserwith his queen Isabel; besides many other able fowls-whose flight is not above their dunghill or princes and nobles. About 85,000 tons of lime- henroost.
Burke. stone are quarried in the neighbourhood; and Aye, as the dunghill may conceal a gem about 200,000 bolls of limeshells, and 35,000 Which is now set in gold, as jewels should be.
Byron. chaldrons of lime, are sold annually; 90,000 tons of coals are also raised, of which 60,000 are ex DUNGANNON, a barony in county Tyrone, ported. A beautiful specimen of the art of province of Ulster, having in it a borough, mar
ket, fair, and post town of the same name; si- said to be of great antiquity. Each of them tuated about fourteen miles north of Armagh, covers about an acre of ground. The whole and ninety-one and a half north-west of Dublin. structure of these mounts is of earth ; but they Lat. 54° 28', long. 7° 18'. It returns one mem are not both of the same form and dimensions. ber to parliament. The town belongs to lord The more easterly one is perfectly round, resemNorthland who has a handsome seat there. Fair bling an oven, and upwards of fifty feet in days, first Thursday in February; second Thurs.. height. The other bears no resemblance to the day in April; second Monday in May; first eastern one either in shape or size. At the Thursday in July; third Tuesday in August; foundation it is nearly of a triangular form; but first Monday 0. S. in October; last Tuesday in the superstructure is quite irregular; nor does November. This town was made remarkable for the height thereof bear any proportion to the the Ulster delegation of volunteers on the 15th of extent of its base. These mounts are now Feb. 1782. There is a part of the town called the planted with firs, which, with the parish church New Town, the houses of which in general are of Dunipace standing in the middle between
narrow Its chief husiness is the linen them, and the river running hard by, give this trade. In 1816 about £2000 per week was valley a very romantic appearance. The common regularly expended in that market on the pur- account given of them is, that they were erected chase of that article. Here is a poor school as monuments of a peace concluded in that place endowed by the lady Northland, and a free school between the Romans and the Caledonians, and founded by Charles I., and endowed with 1000 that their name partakes of the language of both plantation acres, producing about £800 per people; dun signifying a hill in the old language
There is a good house here, and glebe of this island; and pax, peace, in the language of 405 acres. In this parish are the coal mines of Rome. And we find in history, that no less of Drumglass, leased by the primate to the Hiber- than three treaties of peace were, at different nian Mining Company for £300 per annum: the periods, entered into between the Romans and company have already expended £2000 in the Caledonians: the first, by Severus, about A.D. erection of steam engines and other necessary 210; the second, soon after, by his son Caracalla; apparatus for working the mines.
and the third, by Carasius, about 280; but of Dung Meers, in husbandry, places where soils which of those treaties Dunipace is a monument, and dungs are mixed and digested together. we cannot pretend to determine. These consist of pits, prepared at the bottom DUNKELD, a town of Scotland, in Perthwith stone and clay, that they may hold water, shire, seated on the north side of the river Tay, or the moisture of the dung. They ought to be in a situation truly romantic, among high and so situated, that the sinks and drips of the houses almost inaccessible craggs, partly naked and and barns may run into them.' Into these are partly wooded. It is the chief market town of cast refuse, fodder, litter, dung, weeds, &c., the Highlands, and has been greatly improved where they lie and rot together, till the farmer with buildings by the dukes of Athol. It was has occasion for them.
the capital of ancient Caledonia. About the DUN'GEON, n. s.
Anciently donjon, the dawn of Christianity, a Pictish king made it the principal tower of a castle, from Cel. and Brit. seat of religion, by erecting a monastery of Culo dun, a hill on which towers usually stood. A dees there; which king David I., in 1130, conclose prison.
verted into a cathedral: it ranked as the first in Then
Scotland. The entire shell of the cathedral still up be took the slumbered senseless corse, And, ere he could out of his swoon awake,
remains, the east end serving for a parish church, Him to his castle brought with hasty force,
on the north side of which is the burial place of And in a dungeon deep him threw without remorse.
the dukes of Athol. The architecture is simple
Spenser. and elegant, the pillars are round. The monuNo man can marvel how that tyrant blinded his ment of one of its bishops remains in the south captives, when he hears that he brought them imme. aisle of the nave, with that of Alexander Stuart, diately, out of a dark dungeon, into rooms that were earl of Buchan, third son of Robert II., called, made bright and glorious.
for his cruelty, The Wolf of Badenoch. The Bp. Hall. Contemplations.' tower at the west end, with a singular crack We know not that the king of heaven hath dooomed down one of its sides, adds to the picturesque This place our dungeon; not our safe retreat Beyond his potent arm. Milton's Paradise Lost.
appearance which the whole makes, among the Death only can such thieves make fast
venerable pines at the end of the duke's garden. As rob, though in a dungeon.
His grace's seat is a neat modern building, with By imagination, a man in a dungeun is capable of pleasant gardens, and a fine cascade on the water entertaining himself with scenes and landscapes, more
of Bran, which, in its way from the western beautiful than any that can be found in the whole hills, forms a fall of 150 feet, called the Rumbcompass of nature.
Addison. ling Brig, from a narrow bridge made by the Let Vanity adorn the marble tomb
fall of two rocks across the stream. Dunkeld With trophies, rhymes, and 'scutcheons of renown, has four fairs, January 21, February 3, March 8, In the deep dungeon of some Gothic dome,
and second Tuesday in November. Besides the Where night and desolation ever frown. Beattie
tanning of leather, the linen manufacture has An eye of most transparent light, That almost made the dungeon bright.
been carried on to considerable extent, for a Byron.
number of years, and the manufacture of cotton DUNIPACE, Hills of, two artificial mounts goods is now also introduced. Dunkeld is in a parish of the same name in Stirlingshire fifteen miles north-west from Perth.
DUNKIRK, from dun, Celt. a hill, and kirk, of the basin was faced with masonry, and the Flem. a church; a maritime town of France, in quays completely formed. In 1689 the fort, the department of the north, and ci-devant pro- called the Cornichon, and some other works, vince of French Flanders. It is the most easterly were added. Upwards of thirty years were emharbour on that side of France which is next to ployed in improving the fortifications. At the Great Britain, and was originally a mean hamlet, treaty of Utrecht, it having been made appear consisting only of a few fishermen's huts. Bald- that the privateers of Dunkirk had, during the win, ea.. of Flanders, about A. D. 960, thinking war then closing, taken from the English no less the situation convenient, enlarged it into a town, than 1614 prizes, valued at £1,334,375 sterling, and surrounded it with a wall. In the year it was stipulated, that the fortifications of the city 1322 Robert, earl of Flanders, who held it as an and port of Dunkirk should be entirely demolished, appendage, built a castle for its defence, which and the harbour filled up; and queen Anne deputed was afterwards demolished by the revolters of colonels Armstrong and Clayton to inspect the Flanders. Robert of Bar erected a fortification execution of this part of the treaty. A large round it, the remains of which are visible on the bar was now built across the mouth of the harside next the harbour. The emperor Charles bour, between the jetties and the town, by which V., who held it as part of Flanders, built another all communication between it and the canal, castle to defend the harbour, but this was also which formed its entrance, was entirely cut off. demolished soon afterwards. In 1558 the The sluices were also broken up, and the mateFrench, under marshal de Thermes, took Dun- rials of them broken to pieces. This was scarcely kirk by storm, and almost ruined the place; the accomplished, when Louis XIV. ordered 30,000 Spaniards recovered it again in about a fortnight, men to construct the new canal of Mardick, and put all the French to the sword. During a which in a short time they accomplished; and thus peace procured for the inhabitants by Philip II. the harbour was rendered almost as commodious of Spain, they rebuilt their town with greater as ever ; but in 1717 this likewise was rendered splendor than before, and Aourished for some unserviceable. In 1720, during a great storm, time by privateering against the Dutch; at the sea broke up the bar, and restored the nse of length they fortified their town and harbour, and the harbour in a very considerable degree. When, fitted out fifteen ships of war at their own in 1740, Great Britain was engaged in a war charge. In 1634 the inhabitants agreed with with Spain, Louis XV. set about improving the those of Bergues to dig a canal, at their joint advantage which Dunkirk had derived from the expense, for a communication between the storm in 1720, by restoring the works and retwo towns; which was sone time afterwards pairing the harbour. He rebuilt the jetties and effected. By this time Dunkirk was become erected new forts in the place of those which the best harbour the Spaniards possessed in had been destroyed; and soon afterwards Flanders, which induced many foreigners to espoused the cause of Spain, and became a settle there; and, it being necessary to enlarge principal in the war. But at the peace of Aixthe town, a new fortified wall was built at a la-Chapelle, in 1748, it was stipulated, that all considerable distance from the former. In 1646 the works towards the sea should be destroyed it was besieged and taken by the prince of a second time; yet, in 1756, the place was Condé. In 1652 it was retaken by the archduke again in a good state of defence. At the peace Leopold, then governor of the Netherlands. of 1763 it was once more stipulated that a BriFrance entering into a treaty with England, in tish commissary should reside at Dunkirk, to 1655, the Dunkirkers, with views of pecuniary see to the destruction of this harbour. But by advantage, fitted out privateers against both the peace of 1783 he was withdrawn, and the these powers; the consequence of which was, French were left to resume their works. The that the French, assisted by Cromwell, attacked British, under his late royal highness the duke and took it, and it was left in the hands of the of York, laid siege to this town in 1793, but English. It was even then of great importance were soon obliged to abandon it. to us; for, during the war in which it was taken, Dunkirk is, on the whole, a well-built town : the Dunkirkers had made prizes of no less than the houses are chiefly of white brick ; but seldom 250 English vessels, many of which were of consist of more than two stories. It is a place great value. The fortifications were now, there- of brisk trade in fish, corn, colonial produce, fore, improved, and a citadel built; yet the and home manufactures. Its chief inconvenience English kept it only four years; for in 1662, two is a scarcity of fresh water. The barracks are years after the Restoration, Charles II. sold this extensive and elegant; and the churches contain valuable acquisition to France, for the paltry some beautiful paintings. The town is apsum of £500,000. It was accordingly taken proached by a canal of a mile and a half in possession of,, for Louis XIV., by the count length, the port and basin being in the interior d'Estrades, on the 29th November, 1662. The of the town; the roadstead is at the outer excelebrated engineer, Monsieur Vauban, now erect- tremity of the canal, and formed by a sand-bank ed an arsenal here, large enough to contain all running parallel to the shore. A mound and the stores necessary for fitting out and maintain- ditch surround the town. Dunkirk was restored ing a large fleet; the fortifications on the land to the privilege of a free port by a royal ordiside were constructed in a manner that was nance of the 22d April, 1816. Population about thought to render them impregnable; and, to- 20,000. It is twenty-five miles north-east of wards the sea, the entrance of the harbour was Calais, and forty north-west of Lisle. strongly fortified. These works were completed DUNMORE, East, a post town in the county ir: 1683; and, in 1685, the whole circumference of Waterford, eighty-four Irish miles from Dub
lin, and nine from Waterford city, lat. 50° 8°17', claimed and received it. It has been actually N. long. 7° 3', W., is remarkable for a pier built receired so lately as since the year 1750, by a for establishing a packet station to ply between weaver and his wife, of Coggeshall in Essex. this port and Milford Haven, from which it is It has been demanded more recently still; but distant seventy-eight nautical miles. This great the ceremony being attended with considerable work was undertaken at the expense of govern- expense to the lord of the manor, the demand is ment, as an important step in the desirable object now evaded. See Bacon, Servịce of the. of improving and facilitating communication be DUNN (Samue!), an English mathematician, tween England and Ireland in 1814, from a born at Crediton in Devonshire. He opened a design by Ă. Nimmo, Esq. and has been executed school in his native town, where he gained conat an expense of £80,000. The packets formerly siderable reputation as a teacher, and where he ran up the harbour or river to Cheek Point, the continued for several years. He afterwards rejunction of the Suir and Barrow rivers; and at moved to Chelsea, where he kept an academy, this place were not unfrequently wind-bound. and became mathematical examiner for the East The new harbour is immediately upon the At- India service. He published an Atlas, folio ; iantic, and, being carried into five fathoms at low Treatises on Book-keeping, Navigation, &c. He water, is accessible at all times, and may be died in 1792, and left his property towards sailed from with all winds. The pier issues founding a mathematical school at Crediton. from a lofty bold conglomerate rock, which has DUNNEMARLE Castle, i.e. the castle furnished all the rubble stone consumed in its near the sea, an ancient fort of the Macduffs, formation; and is carried in a N.N. E. direction thanes of Fife, now in ruins; said to have been 10 a distance of 1000 feet, having a base of 250 their utmost boundary to the west. It was here feet in breadth; the back, being exposed to the that lady Macduff and her children were murheavy swell of the Atlantic, is paved with enor- dered by the tyrant Macbeth. It was seated on mous blocks of stone. The inside of the pier is the banks of the Forth, in a fine situation, now an upright quay wall, forty-five feet in height, called Castle-hill. faced with hewn sand-stone; the foundations of DUNNING (John), an eminent English lawwhich were laid by the aid the diving-hell in yer, born at Ashburton in Devonshire, in 1731, twenty-four feet of water. On the quay is an where his father practised as an attorney, and elegant range of vaulted apartments, containing where he began the studies connected with his the light keeper's residence, coals for the steam profession. But after continuing some time with packets, and the stores. The platform over these his father, he entered of the Temple, and was forms an agreeable promenade, and has a light- called to the bar, where he soon distinguished house at its extremity, the design of which is a himself as an able lawyer and a powerful orator. Auted Doric column, copied from the pillars of lle likewise obtained a seat in parliament, where the temple at Pæstum: the lantern exhibits red he was particularly noticed on the side of the oplights to the sea, and bright towards Waterford position. Ile afterwards became solicitor-general haven. There is a slip constructed on the inside and recorder of Bristol, and chancellor of the of the pier, affording a safe and convenient place duchy of Lancaster. In 1782 he was created for landing and embarking at all times. On the lord Ashburton, but died the year following, opposite side of the harbour is a small rock-formed leaving an infant son to inherit the title. His island, curiously perforated by natural arches; lordship was an upright lawyer, and it is rethe extremity of this rock, below water, is marked corded of him, much to his honor, that he often by a stone beacon, connected to the island by a pleaded the cause of the poor unsolicited, and suspension foot-bridge of very simple construc- without a fee. tion, 180 feet span. This island divides the DUNNOTAR Castle, an ancient fortress, whole enclosed space into an outer and inner now in ruins, built in the reign of Edward I. by harbour, the latter of which, a surface of six an ancestor of the Marischal family. In 1661 acres, is completely sheltered from the awful the regalia of Scotland were lodged in it, to preswell of the Atlantic by the judicious position of serve them from the English army, and a garrithe pier, while the outer might be so enlarged son, with ammunition and provisions, obtained (to nine acres) as to admit line of battle ships. for their defence by E. Marischal, the proprietor; The harbour has fully realised expectation; the who, upon joining the king's forces in England, economy observed in its construction is very appointed George Ogilvy, of Barras, lieutenantconspicuous, and, during the period of the erec governor of the fort. This trust he maintained tion of the pier, little or no damage was sustained with the greatest heroism. For though besieged by the shipping that were necessitated to seek and summoned to surrender by general Lambert, shelter there.
so early as November 1651, he held out obstiDUNMOW, LITTLE, a village in Essex. It had nately for six months, till May 1652; when, the once a priory, and is still famous for the custom siege being turned into a blockade, and provisions instituted in the reign of Henry III., by Robert and anımunition all spent, the garrison began to de Fitzwalter, and now the tenure of the manor: mutiny, and he at last capitulated upon honorable namely, that whatever married couple will go to terms; but not till he had privately conveyed the the priory, and swear, kneeling upon two sharp- regalia to the clergymen of Kinneff
. The English pointed stones in the church, that they had not not finding the regalia, shut up the governor and quarrelled, nor repented of their marriage, within his wife close prisoners for years, using every a year and a day after it took place, shall receive means of severity and allurement to produce a from the lord of the manor a flitch of bacon. discovery, but in vain. Mr. Ogilvy continued Some old records mention several that have faithful to his trust till the Restoration, when he