Dry Spring: The Coming Water Crisis of North America

Front Cover
Raincoast Books, 2008 - Nature - 383 pages
5 Reviews
Written in the tradition of Jared Diamond's Collapse and Tim Flannery's The Weather Makers, Dry Spring is an explosive book on the coming water crisis--and what we need to do to prevent it.The globe is running out of water. Lakes, aquifers and rivers disappear, but we consume more than ever. Many fast-growing places--the U.S. Southwest, B.C.'s Okanagan, the Great Lakes area--face deadly scarcity. Yet even as the world dries, some parts are getting more violently stormy. Dry Spring tells dramatic stories of floods and droughts that will worsen over the next 25 years. We see what's happening to cities, farms, ranches and orchards--and people. Chris Wood shows that Canada overall will get more water--and America less. He calls provocatively upon Canada to find solutions and opportunities jointly with the U.S. And he describes inspiring choices by which we can save this precious resource for our future."The best thing yet written on the many impacts of global warming on the world's water and climate systems. A highly readable interweaving of hard science with the stories of individual people." (Al Appleton, former commissioner, Department of Environmental Protection, City of New York)"This is a beautifully written, compelling, controversial and hopeful tale that merits a place on the bookshelf of anyone who cares about the fate of humanity." (Alanna Mitchell, author of Dancing at the Dead Sea: Tracking the World's Environmental Hotspots)

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - DinadansFriend - LibraryThing

This is a well researched study of the coming shortage that will be upon Alberta in the coming decade. Calgary in particular will have a population of over 1,000,000 people, and will be desperately ... Read full review

Review: Dry Spring: The Coming Water Crisis of North America

User Review  - Gilesslade - Goodreads

Years ago while living in Southern California, I read a great book about America's wanton attitude towards its freshwater called Cadillac Desert. Chris Wood has advanced the theme into the 21st ... Read full review


Prologue The Marble and the BowlII
Why the World s Forests Are Burning

17 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Journalist and former Maclean's editor CHRIS WOOD has written in the Globe and Mail, the Financial Post, the Walrus, thetyee.ca and more. He won two Gold National Magazine Awards for his work on water, co-authored Blockbusters and Trade Wars (shortlisted for the Donner Prize) and, with Beverley Wood, wrote the Sirius Mystery teen books, including The Golden Boy and DogStar.

Bibliographic information