Page images
[blocks in formation]

Adopted in Convention January 4th, 1877, and as finally
Amended January 15th, 1890.



This Association shall be called THE ILLINOIS STATE BAR ASSOCIATION.



The Association is formed to cultivate the science of juris prudence, to promote reform in the law, to facilitate the administration of justice, to elevate the standard of integrity, honor, and courtesy in the legal profession, to encourage a thorough and liberal legal education, and to cherish a spirit of brotherhood among the members thereof.



The members of the Bar of this State attending this convention, this January 4th, 1877, are hereby declared to be members of this Association, provided they shall, on or before the 1st day of April, 1877, pay the admission fee and subscribe to this Constitution, or otherwise in writing notify the Secretary of their acceptance of membership. And also, all members of the Bar of this State shall be admitted to membership who, before that day, shall notify the Secretary of

their desire to become members, and pay the admission fee, and receive the favorable report of the Committee on Admissions.

Any member of the legal profession in good standing, residing and practicing in the State of Illinois, may become a member by vote of the Association, or upon nomination, after a favorable report from the Committee on Admissions, and on subscribing to this Constitution (or otherwise in writing notifying the Secretary of his acceptance of membership), and within the period limited by the By-Laws, paying the admission fee and annual dues of the current year.



The officers of the Association shall be a President, who shall deliver the annual address, and be ineligible for the term succeeding his term of service; seven Vice-Presidents, one to be chosen from each Supreme Judicial District; an Executive Committee; a Committee on Admissions; a Committee on Grievances; a Committee on Law Reform; a Committee on Legal Education; a Committee on Legal Biography; a Secretary and a Treasurer-all of whom shall be elected at the annual meeting, and hold their offices until the next annual meeting of the Association: Provided, any one or more of the above mentioned committees may be filled by appointment by the President, if the Association so direct.



The President, or (in his absence) one of the Vice-Presidents, or (in the absence of all of them) one of the members, shall preside at all meetings of the Association.



The Executive Committee shall consist of five members. The President and Secretary shall be ex officio members of the Executive Committee.

This committee shall manage the affairs of the Association, subject to the provisions of the Constitution and By-Laws, and shall be vested with the title to all its property, as trustee thereof, until the Association shall be incorporated; and the Executive Committee shall make by-laws for the Association, subject to amendment by the Association.



The Committee on Admissions shall consist of five members. The proceedings of this committee shall be deemed confidential, and shall be kept secret, except so far as written or printed reports of the same shall be necessarily and officially made to the Association.



The Committee on Grievances shall consist of five members. It shall be the duty of the committee to receive all complaints which may be made in matters affecting the interests of the legal profession, the practice of the law and the administration of justice, and to report the same to the Association with such recommendations as they deem proper.

The proceedings of this committee shall be deemed confidential, and kept secret, except so far as the written or printed reports of the same shall be necessarily and officially made to the Association.



The Committee on Law Reform shall consist of nine members, to be appointed at this meeting, three of whom shall serve for one, three for two, and three for three years; and that at each annual meeting hereafter, three members shall be appointed in place of those retiring, who shall serve for three years.

It shall be the duty of this committee to consider and report to the Association such amendment of the law as, in its opinion, should be adopted; also, to scrutinize proposed changes of the law, and, when necessary, report upon the same; also, to observe the practical working of the judicial system of the State, and recommend by written or printed report, from time to time, any changes therein which observation or experience may suggest.



The Committee on Legal Education shall consist of seven members, to be appointed by the Association from year to


Its duty shall be to examine and report what changes it is expedient to propose in the system of legal education, and of admission to the practice of the profession in the State of Illinois.



The Committee on Legal Biography shall consist of so many members as the Association shall appoint from year to year.

It shall be its duty to provide for the perservation, among the archives of the Association, of suitable written or printed memorials of the lives and characters of deceased members of the Bar of the State, and make report thereof to each annual meeting of the Association.



Every standing committee shall, at each stated annual meeting, report in writing a summary of its proceedings since its last annual report (except such matters as the Constitution and By-Laws require to be kept secret), together with any suggestions deemed suitable and appertaining to its powers, duties, or business.

« PreviousContinue »