The Angel Esmeralda: Nine Stories

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Nov 15, 2011 - Fiction - 224 pages
From one of the greatest writers of our time, his first collection of short stories, written between 1979 and 2011, chronicling—and foretelling—three decades of American life

Set in Greece, the Caribbean, Manhattan, a white-collar prison and outer space, these nine stories are a mesmerizing introduction to Don DeLillo’s iconic voice, from the rich, startling, jazz-infused rhythms of his early work to the spare, distilled, monastic language of the later stories.

In “Creation,” a couple at the end of a cruise somewhere in the West Indies can’t get off the island—flights canceled, unconfirmed reservations, a dysfunctional economy. In “Human Moments in World War III,” two men orbiting the earth, charged with gathering intelligence and reporting to Colorado Command, hear the voices of American radio, from a half century earlier. In the title story, Sisters Edgar and Grace, nuns working the violent streets of the South Bronx, confirm the neighborhood’s miracle, the apparition of a dead child, Esmeralda.

Nuns, astronauts, athletes, terrorists and travelers, the characters in The Angel Esmeralda propel themselves into the world and define it. DeLillo’s sentences are instantly recognizable, as original as the splatter of Jackson Pollock or the luminous rectangles of Mark Rothko. These nine stories describe an extraordinary journey of one great writer whose prescience about world events and ear for American language changed the literary landscape.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - grebmops - LibraryThing

Best stories: "The Angel Esmeralda", "Baader-Meinhof" People rave about "Human Moments" but I don't really feel it, it's almost as if DeLillo is doing JG Ballard. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - xtien - LibraryThing

The story "the angel Esmeralda" is a story that's also part of Underworld. I bought it, but I was disappointed, I had already read it, twice. And like it. But I would have appreciated if someone had told me that it's part of Underworld. Read full review


Human Moments in World War III
The Ivory Acrobat
The Angel Esmeralda
Midnight in Dostoevsky
Hammer and Sickle
The Starveling

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Don DeLillo is the author of fifteen novels, including Zero K, Underworld, Falling Man, White Noise, and Libra. He has won the National Book Award, the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, the Jerusalem Prize for his complete body of work, and the William Dean Howells Medal from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In 2010, he was awarded the PEN/Saul Bellow Prize. His story collection The Angel Esmeralda was a finalist for the 2011 Story Prize and the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.

Bibliographic information