Gone Fishin': An Easy Rawlins Novel

Front Cover
Black Classic Press, 1997 - Fiction - 244 pages
1 Review
"The setting: Houston, 1939. Easy and Mouse are young men just setting out in life. Easy has yet to develop his skill for unraveling the secrets of others, and Mouse has yet to kill his first man. All will soon change." "Easy and Mouse come of age in Gone Fishin' as they are compelled to examine their friendship and other relationships that have shaped their lives. Both young men take a closer look at their love and memories of their mothers and are forced to deal with the fathers in their lives - Easy yearning for the one he hardly knew, Mouse vengeful over the one he was left. Out of these memories and interactions, each must somehow forge his own sense of manhood."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

What people are saying - Write a review

Gone Fishin (Easy Rawlins Mysteries)

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Mosley's acclaimed creation Easy Rawlins (e.g., A Red Death, Audio Reviews, LJ 10/1/94) here remembers an adventure from when he was 19. He agrees to drive his dangerous and disreputable friend Mouse ... Read full review

Gone fishin': an Easy Rawlins novel

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

There can be no better way to start off the year than with Easy Rawlins. Fans already needing a fix after Mosley's recent A Little Yellow Dog (LJ 6/1/96), get happy: Easy and Mouse are back in this ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1997)

Walter Mosley was born in Los Angeles, California on January 12, 1952. He graduated from Johnson State College in Vermont. His first book, Devil in a Blue Dress, was published in 1990, won a John Creasy Award for best first novel, and was made into a motion picture starring Denzel Washington in 1995. He is the author of the Easy Rawlins Mystery series, the Leonid McGill Mystery series, and the Fearless Jones series. His other works include Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned, 47, Last Days of Ptolemy Grey, and Twelve Steps toward Political Revelation. He has received numerous awards, including an O. Henry Award, the Carl Brandon Society Parallax Award, and PEN America's Lifetime Achievement Award.

Bibliographic information