« PreviousContinue »
PAST AND PRESENT
ITS HISTORY, ASSOCIATIONS, AND
HENRY B. WHEATLEY, F.S.A.
THE HANDBOOK OF LONDON
BY THE LATE
IN THREE VOLUMES— Vol. II
Eagle Tavern, City Road, a tea-garden and place of public entertainment, erected 1838, near to the "Shepherd and Shepherdess," a tea-house and garden noted in the early years of the present century. In the gardens of the Eagle Tavern stands the Grecian Theatre, which since 1882 has been a centre of the Salvation Army.
Earl Street, WESTMINSTER. This street, as also Marsham Street and Romney Street, was named after Charles Marsham, Earl of Romney, the owner of the property.
Earl's Court, KENSINGTON, a district named after the residence of the Lords of the Manor (the Veres, Earls of Oxford), who held their courts here.
Blackmore himself, for any grand effort
Pope's Second Epistle of the Second Book of Horace. In 1764 John Hunter, the famous surgeon, purchased two acres of land in this village from the Earl of Warwick, and built a house on it, where he lived till his death in 1793. The materials of Earl's Court House were sold by auction, February 16 and 17, 1886. One lot was the historical copper (with shaped doors and coving over as fixed) in which the remains of Byrne O'Brien, the Irish giant, were boiled by Hunter.
East India Docks, BLACKWALL. Originally constructed chiefly for the ships of the East India Company, but after the opening of the trade to India the East India Dock Company united, 1838, with the West India Dock Company. The first stone of these docks was laid March 4, 1804, and the docks were opened for business August 4, 1806. The import dock has an area of 19 acres, the export dock of 10 acres, and the basin of 3, making a total surface of 32 acres. The export dock has been considerably extended and improved