Page images




WHEREAS, The people of California have presented a constitution and asked admission into the Union, which constitution was submitted to Congress by the President of the United States, by message dated February thirteenth, eighteen hundred and fifty, and which, on due examination, is found to be republican in its form of government:

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled, That the State of California shall be one, and is hereby declared to be one, of the United States of America, and admitted into the Union on an equal footing with the original States in all respects whatever.

2. The said State of California is admitted into the Union upon the express condition that the people of said State, through their Legislature or otherwise, shall never interfere with the primary disposal of the public lands within its limits, and shall pass no law and do no act whereby the title of the United States to, and right to dispose of, the same shall be impaired or questioned; and that they shall never lay any tax, or assessment of any description whatsoever, upon the public domain of the United States; and in no case shall non-resident proprietors, who are citizens of the United States, be taxed higher than residents; and that all the navigable waters within the said State shall be common highways, and forever free, as well to the inhabitants of said State as to the citizens of the United States, without any tax, impost, or duty therefor; provided, that nothing herein contained shall be construed as recognizing or rejecting the propositions tendered by the people of California, as articles of compact in the ordinance adopted by the convention which formed the Constitution of that State.

3. All laws of the United States which are not locally inapplicable shall have the same force and effect within the said State of California as elsewhere within the United States.

Approved September 9, 1850.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]



I. ASSEMBLY DISTRICTS (Statutes of 1911, Extra Session, page 18)

ist. Del Norte and Siskiyou counties. 2d. Humboldt county. 3d. Shasta and Trinity counties. 4th. Plumas, Lassen, Modoc, and Sierra counties. 5th. Tehama, Glenn, and Colusa counties. 6th. Mendocino county. 7th. Butte county. 8th. Yuba, Sutter, and Yolo counties. 9th. Nevada and Placer counties. ioth. Solano county. IIth. Napa and Lake counties. 12th and 13th. Sonoma county. 14th and 15th. Sacramento county. 16th. Amador, Eldorado, Alpine, and Calaveras counties. 17th. Marin county. 18th. Contra Costa county. 19th and 20th. San Joaquin county. 21st to 33d, inclusive. The city and county of San Francisca. 34th to 41st, inclusive. Alameda county. 42d.

San Mateo county.

Santa Cruz county. 44th and 45th. Santa Clara county. 46th. Stanislaus county. 47th. Mariposa, Tuolumne, Mono, and Inyo counties. 48th. Monterey and San Benito counties. 49th. Merced and Madera counties. 50th to 52d, inclusive. Fresno county. 53d. San Luis Obispo county. 54th. Kings county. 55th. Tulare county. 56th. Kern county. 57th and 58th. San Bernardino county.


59th. Santa Barbara county.
both. Ventura county.
61st to 75th, inclusive. Los Angeles county.
76th. Orange county.
77th. Riverside county.
78th. Imperial county.
79th and 8oth. San Diego county.

II. SENATORIAL DISTRICTS (Statutes of 1911, Extra Session, page 140)

ist. Del Norte, Humboldt, Trinity, and Tehama counties.
2d. Modoc, Siskiyou, Shasta, and Lassen counties.
3d. Plumas, Sierra, Nevada, Placer, and Eldorado counties.
4th. Mendocino, Colusa, Lake, and Glenn counties.
5th. Napa and Solano counties.
6th. Butte, Yuba, Sutter, and Yolo counties.
7th. Sacramento county.
8th. Sonoma county.
9th. Marin and Contra Costa counties.
ioth. San Joaquin and Amador counties.
11th. San Mateo, San Benito, and Santa Cruz counties.
12th. Tuolumne, Mariposa, Stanislaus, Merced, Alpine, Mono, Madera,

and Calaveras counties.
13th to 16th, inclusive. Alameda county.
17th. Monterey and San Luis Obispo counties.
18th to 24th, inclusive. The city and county of San Francisco.
25th. Ventura and Santa Barbara counties.
26th. Fresno county.
27th and 28th. Santa Clara county.
29th. Part of Los Angeles county.
30th. San Bernardino and Inyo counties.
31st. Part of Los Angeles county.
32d. Kings, Tulare, and Kern counties.
33d to 38th, inclusive. Balance of Los Angeles county.
39th. Riverside, Orange, and Imperial counties.
40th. San Diego county.

III. CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS (Statutes of 1911, Extra Session, page


[ocr errors]

ist. Del Norte, Humboldt, Mendocino, Glenn, Butte, Yuba, Sutter,

Marin, Colusa, Lake, and Sonoma counties.

2d. Siskiyou, Modoc, Trinity, Shasta, Lassen, Tehama, Plumas, Sierra,

Nevada, Placer, Eldorado, Amador, Calaveras, Alpine, Tuolumne,

and Mariposa counties. 3d. Napa, Yolo, Sacramento, Solano, Contra Costa, and San Joaquin

counties. 4th and 5th. The city and county of San Francisco. 6th. Alameda county. 7th. Stanislaus, Merced, Madera, Fresno, Kings, Tulare, and Kern

counties. 8th. San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey, San

Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura counties. 9th and ioth. Los Angeles county. 11th. San Bernardino, Orange, Riverside, San Diego, Inyo, Mono, and

Imperial counties.


The four equalization districts still coincide with the four congressional districts into which the state was divided in 1879, the legislature having never redistricted the state as it has power to do by section 9, article XIII of the constitution.

The four districts are as follows: ist. The city and county of San Francisco. 2d. Alameda, Contra Costa, San Joaquin, Sacramento, Placer, Nevada

Eldorado, Amador, Calaveras, Alpine, and Tuolumne counties. 3d. All that part of the state north of the first and second districts. 4th. All that part of the state south of the first and second districts.

« PreviousContinue »