Woman in the Mists: The Story of Dian Fossey and the Mountain Gorillas of Africa

Front Cover
Macdonald, 1988 - Gorilla - 380 pages
0 Reviews
Deep in the volcano country of central Africa live some of the rarest, most intriguing animals on earth -- the mountain gorillas. Here, in the mist-shrouded forests, Dian Fossey courageously dedicated her life to studying them. Here she patiently waited until the luminous-eyed gorillas accepted her presence, hugged her, and loved her...while she fought for their survival against poachers, callous researchers, zoo collectors, and local bureaucrats. And here, surrounded by these enemies, she died, mysteriously and brutally murdered.
Now, one of the world's most respected naturalist writers draws for the first time ever on Dian Fossey's personal writings to reveal the true story of a magnificent obsession...one woman's enormous empathy for a highly intelligent, desperately endangered animal -- and how it ruled her life, her work, and her heart.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Woman in the mists: the story of Dian Fossey and the mountain gorillas of Africa

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

The murder of Dian Fossey at her research camp in Rwanda focused world attention on her 19 years of struggle to study and preserve the mountain gorilla. Mowat ( Never Cry Wolf ) has, as intended ... Read full review

Review: Woman in the Mists: The Story of Dian Fossey and the Mountain Gorillas of Africa

User Review  - Alice - Goodreads

Having read Gorillas in the Mists years ago I always wanted to learn more about Dian Fossey. I also love Mowat's Never Cry Wolf, so I very uch wanted to read this one. It is long and a bit hard to get through, but a fascinating read nonetheless. Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

20 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1988)

Farley Mowat's nearly forty books have sold millions of copies & have been published in more than twenty languages. His books include "Never Cry Wolf", "Sea of Slaughter", "The Farfarers", "People of the Deer", "The Dog Who Wouldn't Be", "The Desperate People", & "Ordeal by Ice".

Bibliographic information