Page images
PDF
EPUB
[graphic][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed][ocr errors]

SCENE OF THE SEARCH FOR THE BODY OF JOHN PAUL JONES, IN THE RUE GRANGE-AUX-BELLES.

From left to right are seen the grocery shop, behind which, in the yard to the left, was shaft E, near which the coffin of John Paul Jones was discovered; shaft C in the street; shaft B in the street; and on the right the apartment house at the corner of the Rue des Ecluses Saint-Martin. Drawn by Harry Fenn from a photograph.

funeral oration of Paul Jones would be an indication that he had also buried him there.

While all the proofs thus far distinctly designated this cemetery as the Admiral's place of burial, still it was deemed prudent to investigate the source of various rumors to the contrary, however improbable. The elder Dumas in his romance of "The Pioneer" represents Paul Jones as having been buried in Père Lachaise. Notwithstanding the fact that this celebrated cemetery had not been opened till thirteen years after the Admiral was buried, yet to be sure that his body had not been transferred there in later years, a thorough examination was made of the registers in which the records of burials have been carefully kept. The only male persons found upon the registers bearing the family name of Jones were George Jones, but spelled "Joncs" on the gravestone, died in 1820; John Quereau Jones, in 1822; James Jones, in 1827; Charles Jones, in 1829; Edouard Thomas Jones, in 1833. It was therefore certain that the Admiral's remains were not in Père Lachaise.

There was another fanciful story that he had been interred in Picpus Cemetery, where La Fayette was buried; but as Paul Jones, as recorded in his certificate of burial, was of the Protestant faith, his interment in any cemetery of the established church would have been prohibited. Still, a search was made and it disproved the rumor.

A letter came to me from a person who had lived in Scotland when a child, many years ago, saying Paul Jones had been buried in Kirkbean churchyard, near Dumfries, Scotland: that his tomb was there with his name inscribed on it, etc. I referred the letter to the rector of the church, the Rev. D. W. MacKenzie, who replied that it was the tomb of Paul Jones's father, saying:

The inscription on it is as follows: "In memory of John Paul, senior, who died at Arbigland, the 24th of October, 1767, universally esteemed." At the bottom of the tomb appears the inscription: "Erected by John Paul, junior." John Paul, of course, is the original name of John Paul Jones, the Admiral. I take great interest in the history of the Admiral, and local traditions or printed documents suggest nothing at variance with the accepted opinion that he died in Paris and was buried in the Protestant cemetery there.

After further researches in every possible quarter that could furnish information on the subject, the fact was clearly and incontestably established that the Saint Louis Cemetery was the only burial ground in Paris for foreign Protestants at the time of Paul Jones's death; that he was not interred in any other cemetery; and that Charles Read was perfectly correct in his opinion that the Admiral had positively been buried in the cemetery of Saint Louis. It should be remembered, also, that the act of burial says, "The cemetery for foreign Protestants," language indicating that there was only one in existence devoted to that purpose. All doubt having been removed as to the place of burial, the next step was to make a personal inspection of the ground beneath which

the long-since abandoned cemetery was located, and to endeavor to ascertain its history and its condition at the time of Paul Jones's death.

It is situated in an uninviting section of the northeastern quarter of Paris, at the corner of two streets now known as "Rue Grange-auxBelles" and "Rue des Écluses Saint Martin," and covered with buildings, principally of an inferior class. The property at the time of the Admiral's burial belonged to the Government, and was sold to M. Phalipeaux, a building contractor, in 1796. This quarter of the city was known as "le Combat," and the present station of the underground railroad, close to the property, is called "Combat." This name was not chosen, however, on account of the burial there of the most combative of men, but history attributes the term to the fact that this section of Paris was long ago the scene of all the fights in which animals figured— bulls, cocks, dogs, asses, etc.

A street which leads directly to the property and ends there is named Vicq d'Azyr, after Marie Antoinette's physician, a friend of Paul Jones, who attended him and who accompanied Gouverneur Morris on his visit to the Admiral's house when he lay on his deathbed the evening of July 18, 1792. When a person's name is given to a street in Paris, it is generally in a quarter connected with events in his career. It is possible that the distinguished physician's name was given to the street because of its leading to the place which held the remains of his illustrious friend and patient.

Two old maps of the property were finally discovered, one made by M. Jaillot in 1773 and one by M. Verniquet in 1794, showing that the ground consisted of a courtyard with a frontage of about 130 feet upon Rue des Écluses Saint Martin, with an entrance on that street, and a depth of about 90 feet along Rue Grange-aux-Belles. There was a garden in the rear with a frontage of 120 feet on Rue Grange-aux Belles and a depth of 130 feet. The surface of the garden was about 8 feet lower than that of the courtyard, the descent to which was made by a flight of steps. Thirty years later the grade of the street had been changed and the garden had been leveled up even with the courtyard, and the fact seemed to have been lost sight of that there had ever been a cemetery beneath. There were two cross-walks dividing the garden into four squares. The whole property was surrounded by a wall between 6 and 9 feet high. There was a house in the courtyard and a shed, but no buildings in the garden.

By a decree of the Government the garden was devoted exclusively to the burial of foreign Protestants. On the 30th of September, 1777, a decree was issued permitting native Protestants to be buried thereafter in the courtyard. This cemetery, as hereinbefore mentioned, was legally closed in January, 1793, but the former custodian, who had become the lessee, and the subsequent owners, who had purchased the

[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]
« PreviousContinue »