Red Queen, Volume 1

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Feb 10, 2015 - Young Adult Fiction - 416 pages

The #1 New York Times bestselling series!

Red Queen, by #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Aveyard, is a sweeping tale of power, intrigue, and betrayal, perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series.

Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction.

One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal.

Plus don't miss Realm Breaker! Irresistibly action-packed and full of lethal surprises, this stunning fantasy series from Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Red Queen series, begins where hope is lost and asks: When the heroes have fallen, who will take up the sword?

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
382
4 stars
374
3 stars
219
2 stars
109
1 star
55

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Completely_Melanie - LibraryThing

I listened to the audio book of this. I enjoyed it. It's about this society where your place in life is determined by the color of your blood. If you have silver blood, then you are born with some ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - wanderlustlover - LibraryThing

I was so very pleased to pick this book up after deciding to leave off on The Scorch Trials right in the middle of itself. I very much ended up liking this book, even though I did figure out the hard ... Read full review

All 10 reviews »

Contents

Dedication
Three
Five
Seven
Nine
Eleven
Thirteen
Fourteen
TwentyOne
TwentyThree
TwentyFive
TwentySeven
TwentyEight
Epilogue
Prologue
Monarchs of House Calore

Fifteen
Seventeen
Nineteen
Books by Victoria Aveyard
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2015)

Victoria Aveyard was born and raised in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, a small town known only for the worst traffic rotary in the continental United States. She moved to Los Angeles to earn a BFA in screenwriting at the University of Southern California. She currently splits her time between the East and West coasts. As an author and screenwriter, she uses her career as an excuse to read too many books and watch too many movies. She is the author of the New York Times bestselling Red Queen series, and you can visit her online at www.victoriaaveyard.com.

Bibliographic information