Beyond the Wild River: A Novel

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Apr 18, 2017 - Fiction - 336 pages
2 Reviews
For fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams, a highly atmospheric and suspenseful historical novel, set in the 1890s about a Scottish heiress who unexpectedly encounters her childhood friend in North America, five years after he disappeared from her family’s estate the night of a double murder.

Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre has rarely strayed from her family’s estate in the Scottish Borderlands, save for the occasional trip to Edinburgh, where her father, a respected magistrate, conducts his business—and affairs of another kind. Evelyn has always done her duty as a daughter, hiding her boredom and resentment behind good manners—so when an innocent friendship with a servant is misinterpreted by her father as an illicit union, Evelyn is appalled.

Yet the consequence is a welcome one: she is to accompany her father on a trip to North America, where they’ll visit New York City, the 1893 World’s Fair in Chicago, and conclude with a fishing expedition on the Nipigon River in Canada. Now is her chance to escape her cloistered life, see the world, and reconnect with her father.

Once they’re on the Nipigon, however, Evelyn is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, the former stable hand and her one-time friend who disappeared from the estate after the shootings of a poacher and a gamekeeper. Many had assumed that James had been responsible, but Evelyn never could believe it. Now, in the wilds of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the truth about that day, James, and her father will be revealed…to stunning consequences.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Twink - LibraryThing

I really enjoyed Sarah Maine's debut novel, The House Between Tides, last year. I noted at the end of my review that I was looking forward to Maine's next book. Well that next book is here - Beyond ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Elysianfield - LibraryThing

A poacher is killed on a Scottish estate and James Douglas is accused of the murder. He flees to Canada where he works as a guide. Five years later Evelyn Ballentyre is accused of becoming too close ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
5
Section 3
19
Section 4
24
Section 5
38
Section 6
47
Section 7
55
Section 8
63
Section 17
180
Section 18
194
Section 19
201
Section 20
209
Section 21
218
Section 22
225
Section 23
242
Section 24
252

Section 9
79
Section 10
91
Section 11
99
Section 12
116
Section 13
126
Section 14
136
Section 15
153
Section 16
165
Section 25
263
Section 26
275
Section 27
284
Section 28
289
Section 29
301
Section 30
308
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2017)

Sarah Maine was born in England but grew up partly in Canada before returning to the United Kingdom, where she now lives. She is the author of The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River.

Bibliographic information