« PreviousContinue »
foreign ducal coronet (fig. 8), and on the other a coat of arms consisting of shield, helmet, mantling, and crest (fig. 9).
On the shield is engraved two lions passant, one above the other, a star of five points in the dexter chief; crest, a horse passant. have not been identified.
There have been many speculations as to how these clocks were used. In the bequest the first was called a camp clock.
They are most frequently called table clocks, but there is not the least doubt that they were also used in much the same way as modern carriage clocks.
The provision of the bow points to their being intended to be hung
upon a nail or attached to a strap, but the bows of neither of these show signs of their having been much used for this purpose; on the contrary, the back dome of the brass clock is very much worn, clearly indicating that it has usually been placed on its back.
That they were frequently carried about in coaches when travelling appears clearly from advertisements notifying their loss which may be seen in early London newspapers.
MONDAY, 9th April 1906.
COL. A. B. M'HARDY, C.B., Vice-President, in the Chair.
A Ballot having been taken, the following were duly elected Fellows:
GERALD Hugh SPALDING BEVERIDGE, 17 South Castle Street, Edinburgh. EVELYN G. M. CARMICHAEL, Barrister-at-Law, Library Chambers,
The following Donations to the Museum and Library were laid on the table, and thanks voted to the Donors :
(1) By Dr HENDERSON, 17 Blacket Place. Rude Stone Implement, chipped from a quartzite pebble, found at Wallajabad, Chingleput District, South India.
Stone Axe, of smoothed greenstone, from the Shevaroy Hills, South India.
(2) By JAMES LYLE, F.S.A. Scot. Wooden Bismar, or Weighing Machine, from Shetland.
(3) By M. Paul BORDEAUX, the Author. Les Jetons et les Epreuves de Monnaies, frappés à Paris de 1553 à
(4) By E. CARTAILHAC and L'ABBE H. BREUIL, the Authors. Les Peintures et Gravures Murales des Cavernes Pyrénéennes, Altamira de Santillane et Marsoulas.
(5) By the TRUSTEES OF THE LATE Dr James Young of Kelly. Bibliotheca Chemica: Catalogue of the Alchemical, Chemical, and Pharmaceutical Books in the Collection of the late Dr James Young of Kelly. Two vols. 4to. 1906.
(6) By Joux CHRISTIE, the Author. The Antiquity of Aberfeldy : An Historical Sketch. Pp. 15.
(7) By Lieut.-Col. D. PRAin, the Author. A Sketch of the Life of Francis Hamilton (once Buchanan), Superintendent of the Botanic Gardens, Calcutta.
(8) By the India OFFICE. Archæological Survey of India. Vol. viii. The Muhammedan Architecture of Ahmedabad. Part 2. By Jas. Burgess, C.I.E., LL.D.
(9) By the Royal SOCIETY OF ANTIQUARIES, Copenhagen, De Danske Runesmindesmaerker. Af L. A Wimmer. Tredie Bind.
(10) By the SURREY ARCHÆOLOGICAL SOCIETY. Waverley Abbey. By Harold Brakspear. 8vo.
(11) By W. H. KNOWLES, the Author. The Premonstratensian Abbey of St Mary, Blanchland. 8vo. Pp. 14. Aydon Castle, Northumberland. 4to. Pp. 18.
The following Communications were read :
NOTICE OF THREE URNS OF THE DRINKING-CUP TYPE AND OTHER
RELICS DISCOVERED IN A MOUND AT FORGLEN, BANFFSHIRE. By J, GRAHAM CALLANDER, F.S.A. Scot.
Early in 1906 an artificial mound, on the estate of Forglen, belonging to Sir George W. Abercromby, Bart., was explored under the direction of Mr Douglas Abercromby, who kindly granted me permission to examine the site and record the discoveries.
The mound is situated in a plantation called Meadowheads Wood, within the policies of Forglen House, of a mile south of the mansion and 550 yards north-east of the Kirk of Forglen, in the parish of the same name in Banffshire. On the Ordnance Survey map the site is marked " Tumulus,” and it stands above the 300-feet contour line, on the eastern slope of a hill running in a northerly direction parallel to the river Deveron, which is į mile distant and 200 feet lower. Before the trees surrounding the site were planted, the mound would command an extensive view of the opposite side of the valley of the Deveron to the east. Rather more than a furlong to the S.S.E., in a field under cultivation, there is another mound surrounded by a trench, almost obliterated by the plough, and about 7} furlongs to the northeast there is a cairn. On the Ordnance map the former is marked " Rounie Law," and the latter, “Barbara's Hillock-Stone Coffin containing Human Remains found A.D. 1850.”
The Forglen tumulus (fig. 1) is nearly circular in shape, it measures from about 64 to 68 feet in diameter, and rises in the centre to a height of 7 feet above the natural surface of the ground. It is almost entirely composed of yellow sand mixed with clay, no stones having been used in its construction except as adjuncts to two of the deposits in the cairn. It resembles the English earthen barrow more than the Scottish cairn, which as a rule is largely composed of stones. Mr Andrew Bell, the forester on the estate, who supervised the excavations and from whose