Home Cooking: A Writer in the Kitchen

Front Cover
Penguin Books Limited, Oct 9, 2025 - Cooking - 208 pages

Published for the first time in the UK, Laurie Colwin's much loved kitchen essays are perfect for fans of Nigella Lawson and Nigel Slater.

Weaving together memories, recipes, and wild tales of years spent in the kitchen, Home Cooking is Laurie Colwin's manifesto on the joys of sharing food and entertaining. From the humble hot-plate of her one-room apartment to the crowded kitchens of bustling parties, Colwin regales us with tales of meals gone both magnificently well and disastrously wrong.

Never before published in the UK, this is hilarious, personal and full of Colwin's hard-won expertise. Home Cooking will speak to the heart (and stomach) of any amateur cook, professional chef, or food lover.

Praise for Laurie Colwin:

'Everything food writing should be: funny, profound, inspiring and unaffected' Nigella Lawson

'I have in my kitchen a book called Home Cooking. And, in between following the recipes for Extremely Easy Old-Fashioned Beef Stew or Estelle Colwin Snellenberg's Potato Pancakes, I would frequently sit down on a little stool in my kitchen and read through one of the essays in that book. I never read through Joy of Cooking, and I can read The Silver Palate Cookbook standing up, but I always sat down to read these' Anna Quindlen

Laurie Colwin is the author of five novels - Happy All the Time, Family Happiness, Goodbye Without Leaving, A Big Storm Knocked It Over and Shine On, Bright and Dangerous Object - three collections of short stories - Passion and Affect, The Lone Pilgrim and Another Marvellous Thing - and two collections of essays, Home Cooking and More Home Cooking. Laurie Colwin died in 1992.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - shadrachanki - LibraryThing

I enjoyed these essays, but what continually struck me is just how different my life and cooking experiences are from the ones described in this book. I have never been to a butcher to purchase meat ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - cissa - LibraryThing

I love Colwin's voice, and I love the recipes of hers I've tried! Even her ideas for eggplant intrigue me, and I am not a fan of eggplant. These are very personal essays on food, and self and family ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2025)

Laurie Colwin is the author of five novels - Happy All the Time, Family Happiness, Goodbye Without Leaving, A Big Storm Knocked It Over and Shine On, Bright and Dangerous Object - three collections of short stories - Passion and Affect, The Lone Pilgrim and Another Marvellous Thing - and two collections of essays, Home Cooking and More Home Cooking. Laurie Colwin died in 1992.

Bibliographic information