The Hunting of the Snark

Front Cover
The Porcupine's Quill, Oct 28, 2019 - Humor - 88 pages

Lewis Carroll’s classic nonsense poem The Hunting of the Snark follows a band of oafish misfits as they undertake an epic quest to catch a fantastical creature known as the Snark. Led by the bombastic and bewildering Bellman, the crew sets out with enthusiasm, a blank map—and no clear idea of what they’re doing.

This newly illustrated edition contains all the delightful darkness and droll sarcasm of Carroll’s original text; and yet, wood engraver George A. Walker cleverly reimagines the tale through his illustrations, drawing from the world of presidential politics to recast the story. In so doing, Walker creates an irresistible commentary on contemporary America, memorializing a baffling political climate and providing a sharp new way of looking at a familiar poem.


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


A Cabinet of Curiosities by Mark Burstein
Preface by Andy Malcolm
List of Characters
Inscribed to a Dear Child
The Landing
The Bellmans Speech
The Bakers Tale
The Hunting
The Beavers Lesson
The Barristers Dream
The Bankers Fate
The Vanishing
A Snarky End by George A Walker

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2019)

Lewis Carroll was born on the 27th of January, 1832, as Charles Lutwidge Dogson at Daresbury in Cheshire, England. Carroll is best known for his children’s books Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass, which quickly became international successes and to this day inspire films, art, and research. Other famous works of his are the poems ‘The Hunting of the Snark’ and ‘Jabberwocky’. Carroll had a prodigious talent in mathematics, logics, word play and philosophy, and he spent most of his life teaching mathematics at Christ Church, Oxford. He died at the age of sixty-five on January 14th, 1898, in Surrey, England. Today there are societies around the world—perhaps most notably The Lewis Carroll Society—dedicated to the study of his life and to the appreciation of his writings.

George A. Walker is an award-winning wood engraver, book artist and author whose courses in book arts and printmaking at OCAD University in Toronto, where he is Associate Professor, have been offered continuously since 1985. His artworks are held in collections ranging from the Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto, The Morgan Library & Museum, New York, and The Museum of Modern Art (MoMa), New York City and he has had over 15 solo exhibitions as well as been included in more than 100 group shows. Among many book projects—both trade and limited edition—Walker has illustrated 2 hand-printed books by internationally acclaimed author Neil Gaiman. Walker also illustrated the first Canadian edition of Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Alice Through the Looking Glass, both published by the Cheshire Cat Press. The Cheshire Cat Press is a partnership between Andy Malcolm and George Walker which continues to publish limited edition books featuring the writing of Lewis Carroll.

George Walker was elected to the Royal Canadian Academy of Art in 2002 for his contribution to the cultural area of Book Arts. He is also a member of the Arts and Letters Club of Toronto where he was featured in a solo exhibition of his books and printmaking in the spring of 2019. Walker’s latest book-length project presents the iconic life of Hollywood silent-film star Mary Pickford in a suite of 87 wood engravings.

Bibliographic information