A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future: Twists and Turns and Lessons Learned

Front Cover
Hachette Australia, 2010 - Actors - 100 pages
In the tradition of TUESDAYS WITH MORRIE and THE LAST LECTURE comes an inspiring book of life lessons from Michael J Fox. Michael J Fox didn t finish high school, but he has gone on to receive honorary degrees from several universities and has achieved the highest accolades for his acting, as well as his writing. In his new book, he inspires and motivates his readers to work hard, achieve the most they can and maximise their abilities - all with his trademark optimism, warmth and humour. From moving to Los Angeles fresh from Canada, without a high school degree and learning to live on a wage; to taking on roles in Family Ties and the Back to the Future movies and nearly crashing and burning; and then learning to cope first with the death of his father and then with his own diagnosis of Parkinson's disease, MJF shares what he's learned about life, work, love, family and happiness and everything else along the way.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - EmScape - www.librarything.com

Michael J. Fox gives an extended graduation speech disguised as a book about his life. That sounds snarkier than I meant it to... Fox does have some advice to give as he recounts growing up middle ... Read full review

Attitude is Everything

User Review  - nismogirl - Overstock.com

Michael J. Foxs optimistic outlook on life is truly inspirational. Reading his book made me more appreciative of the everyday things in life. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Michael J. Fox was born Michael Andrew Fox in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada on June 9, 1961. He made his acting debut in the comedy Leo and Me at the age of 15. He moved to Los Angeles at 18, appearing in small roles and the television series Palmerstown, U.S.A. in 1980, before landing the role of Alex P. Keaton in the television series Family Ties in 1982. He won three consecutive Emmy Awards and a Golden Globe Award for the role. In the late 1980's, he started acting in movies including The Secret of My Success; Bright Lights, Big City; Teen Wolf; Doc Hollywood; and all three of the Back to the Future movies. He has also done voice work providing the voice of Stuart Little in the movie of the same name and its sequel, of Chance in Homeward Bound: The Incredible Journey and its sequel Homeward Bound II: Lost in San Francisco and of Milo Thatch in Atlantis: The Lost Empire. When Fox was diagnosed with Parkinson's disease in 1991, he was playing the role of Mike Flaherty on the television series Spin City, for which he won an Emmy, three Golden Globes, and two Screen Actors Guild Awards. He quit work on the series as a result of the diagnosis. Since then he has written some books including Lucky Man: A Memoir; Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist; and A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Future: Twists and Turns and Lessons Learned.

Bibliographic information