Dry Spring: The Coming Water Crisis of North America

Front Cover
Raincoast Books, 2008 - Nature - 383 pages
4 Reviews
Written in the tradition of Jared Diamond's Collapse and Tim Flannery's The Weather Makers, Dry Spring is an explosive book on the coming water crisis--and what we need to do to prevent it.The globe is running out of water. Lakes, aquifers and rivers disappear, but we consume more than ever. Many fast-growing places--the U.S. Southwest, B.C.'s Okanagan, the Great Lakes area--face deadly scarcity. Yet even as the world dries, some parts are getting more violently stormy. Dry Spring tells dramatic stories of floods and droughts that will worsen over the next 25 years. We see what's happening to cities, farms, ranches and orchards--and people. Chris Wood shows that Canada overall will get more water--and America less. He calls provocatively upon Canada to find solutions and opportunities jointly with the U.S. And he describes inspiring choices by which we can save this precious resource for our future."The best thing yet written on the many impacts of global warming on the world's water and climate systems. A highly readable interweaving of hard science with the stories of individual people." (Al Appleton, former commissioner, Department of Environmental Protection, City of New York)"This is a beautifully written, compelling, controversial and hopeful tale that merits a place on the bookshelf of anyone who cares about the fate of humanity." (Alanna Mitchell, author of Dancing at the Dead Sea: Tracking the World's Environmental Hotspots)

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Dry Spring: The Coming Water Crisis of North America

User Review  - Kirsten - Goodreads

Told from a Canadian's perspective (which is different, might I add), this book covers major water issues in North America. It's mostly anecdotal, talking with farmers and people agitating for change ... Read full review

Review: Dry Spring: The Coming Water Crisis of North America

User Review  - Michelle - Goodreads

The author takes a look at how our climate appears to be changing with particular focus on changes in water surpluses and shortages. His premise is not that the earth is facing a water shortage, but ... Read full review

Related books

Contents

Thanks9
9
Prologue The Marble and the BowlII
11
Why the World s Forests Are Burning
23
Copyright

17 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Chris Wood has taught and coached grades seven through twelve in public and private schools in Anniston, Alabama.

Bibliographic information