Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

Front Cover
Random House LLC, Jun 12, 2012 - Political Science - 304 pages
47 Reviews
With illustrations by award-winning comic artist Joe Sacco, Chris Hedges portrays a suffering nation on the cusp of widespread revolt and addresses Occupy Wall Street in his first book since the international protests began.
 
In the tradition of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Hedges and Sacco travel to the depressed pockets of the United States to report on recession-era America. What they find in Camden, New Jersey, the devastated coalmines of West Virginia, on the Lakota reservation in South Dakota, and in undocumented farmworker colonies in California is a thriving neofeudalism. With extraordinary on-the-ground reportage and illustration, Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt provides a terrifying glimpse of a future for America and the nations that follow her lead--a future that will be avoided with nothing short of revolution. 


From the Trade Paperback edition.
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
18
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
1

Review: Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

User Review  - William Holm - Goodreads

I picked up this book because I've been following Joe Sacco's work for many years. Chris Hedges and Sacco are given the same amount of credits but after finishing the last chapter this feels more like ... Read full review

Review: Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

User Review  - Ryan - Goodreads

This book was incredibly powerful with the writing of Chris Hedges and the illustrations of Joe Sacco. The combination of talents of Hedges and Sacco take us on a journey through some of the hardest ... Read full review

All 12 reviews »

Related books

Contents

INTRODUCTION
1DAYS OF THEFT
2DAYS OF SIEGE
3DAYS OF DEVASTATION
4DAYS OF SLAVERY
5DAYS OF REVOLT
ACKNOWLEDGMENTS
NOTES
BIBLIOGRAPHY
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Chris Hedges, a senior fellow at the Nation Institute and Truthdig columnist, is a Pulitzer Prize-winning author and journalist. His books include such bestsellers as Empire of Illusion, Death of the Liberal Class and the National Book Award-nominated War Is a Force that Gives Us Meaning. He lives in Princeton, New Jersey.
 
Joe Sacco, one of the world's foremost cartoonists, is the author of, among other books, Palestine, which received the American Book Award, and Safe Area Goražde, which won the Eisner Award and was named Time magazine's best comic book of 2000. His books have been translated into 14 languages and his comics reporting has appeared in Details, The New York Times Magazine, Time, and Harper's. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

Bibliographic information